Mac users, where are you guys?

Warzone 2.1.x series. (Unsupported--read only!)
twilight
Trained
Trained
Posts: 46
Joined: 14 May 2008, 12:21

Re: MAC users, where are you guys?

Post by twilight »

I found bison on my mac, it is the offical-GNU-version, at least from what it says
in the manpage.

How would I invoke the testsuite on linux? Maybe it is just the same?
Never used bison or the testsuite of it, so maybe you can point me there??

For what flags are you looking? I can send you the whole output of the
"xcodebuild"-command, but other than that I just don't know where I
should look. If there is a file or so, I would be glad to sent it or look
at it :-)
EvilGuru
Regular
Regular
Posts: 615
Joined: 23 Jun 2007, 22:41

Re: MAC users, where are you guys?

Post by EvilGuru »

Please make sure that you are using bison 2.3. You will need to download and compile this off manually (as things currently stand). It should be a simple case of: ./configure && make && sudo make install .

Once done you should get the following output when you run bison --version:

Code: Select all

freddie:~ freddie$ bison --version
bison (GNU Bison) 2.3
Written by Robert Corbett and Richard Stallman.

Copyright (C) 2006 Free Software Foundation, Inc.
This is free software; see the source for copying conditions.  There is NO
warranty; not even for MERCHANTABILITY or FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE.
This was a requirement in previous (2.0.x) versions of Warzone -- and so may solve your problems with 2.1.

Regards, Freddie.
twilight
Trained
Trained
Posts: 46
Joined: 14 May 2008, 12:21

Re: MAC users, where are you guys?

Post by twilight »

thanks,

I just downloaded bison 2.3 sources, made ./configure make and sudo make install
which all went well!

After a logout and a login bison --version still says "GNU Bison version 1.28" :-(

I think I might try fink soon, but today I have no time left... sleep has
suddenly become a priority!

I'll get back to you ;-)
EvilGuru
Regular
Regular
Posts: 615
Joined: 23 Jun 2007, 22:41

Re: MAC users, where are you guys?

Post by EvilGuru »

Ah, yes I remember. I had to manually copy the resulting executable to /usr/bin/bison (over-writing the current one). Again, sudo will need to be used to do this.

Regards, Freddie.
twilight
Trained
Trained
Posts: 46
Joined: 14 May 2008, 12:21

Re: MAC users, where are you guys?

Post by twilight »

alright, I did that and now bison --version says I have the right version.

Code: Select all

macbookpro3:~/2.1/macosx thommy$ bison --version
bison (GNU Bison) 2.3
Written by Robert Corbett and Richard Stallman.

Copyright (C) 2006 Free Software Foundation, Inc.
This is free software; see the source for copying conditions.  There is NO
warranty; not even for MERCHANTABILITY or FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE.
macbookpro3:~/2.1/macosx thommy$ 
But I still get the same error when compiling warzone:

Code: Select all

    setenv WRAPPER_EXTENSION app
    setenv WRAPPER_NAME Warzone.app
    setenv WRAPPER_SUFFIX .app
    setenv XCODE_APP_SUPPORT_DIR /Developer/Library
    setenv XCODE_VERSION_ACTUAL 0250
    setenv XCODE_VERSION_MAJOR 0200
    setenv YACC /Developer/usr/bin/yacc
    /bin/sh -c cd\ \"${DERIVED_FILES_DIR}\"\ ||\ exit\ 1
bison\ -y\ -d\ -o\"${INPUT_FILE_BASE}\".tab.h\ \"${INPUT_FILE_PATH}\"\ ||\ exit\ 1
bison\ -y\ -d\ -o\"${INPUT_FILE_BASE}\".tab.c\ \"${INPUT_FILE_PATH}\"\ ||\ exit\ 1
/Users/thommy/2.1/macosx/../lib/framework/resource_parser.y:51: unrecognized: %name_prefix
/Users/thommy/2.1/macosx/../lib/framework/resource_parser.y:51:    Skipping to next %
/Users/thommy/2.1/macosx/../lib/framework/resource_parser.y:61: unrecognized: %destructor
/Users/thommy/2.1/macosx/../lib/framework/resource_parser.y:61:    Skipping to next %
** BUILD FAILED **
macbookpro3:~/2.1/macosx thommy$ 
regards,

thomas
User avatar
DevUrandom
Regular
Regular
Posts: 1690
Joined: 31 Jul 2006, 23:14

Re: MAC users, where are you guys?

Post by DevUrandom »

I'd be interested what /Developer/usr/bin/yacc is ...
twilight
Trained
Trained
Posts: 46
Joined: 14 May 2008, 12:21

Re: MAC users, where are you guys?

Post by twilight »

well, it does not respond to a "yacc --version", the manpage just tells me
about its usage and says, that it is posix2 confirm.

the file it self contains no further information (at least I can see ;-))
User avatar
Buginator
Professional
Professional
Posts: 3285
Joined: 04 Nov 2007, 02:20

Re: MAC users, where are you guys?

Post by Buginator »

Have you seen:
Attention Metrosexual Cry-Babies - viewtopic.php?f=6&t=1797 ?
twilight
Trained
Trained
Posts: 46
Joined: 14 May 2008, 12:21

Re: MAC users, where are you guys?

Post by twilight »

I have seen this, yes, thx.

But this version does not work for me, either. It just does ot execute!!
EvilGuru
Regular
Regular
Posts: 615
Joined: 23 Jun 2007, 22:41

Re: MAC users, where are you guys?

Post by EvilGuru »

twilight wrote:I have seen this, yes, thx.

But this version does not work for me, either. It just does ot execute!!
You're going to have to be more descriptive than that if we are to have any hope of fixing the problem.

Can you please attempt to run the game from the terminal. This can be done like so: Open up Terminal.app (use spotlight to locate it if need be) then type in (or copy and paste, minus the quotes): "/Applications/Warzone\ 2100.app/Contents/MacOS/Warzone " and then copy and paste the output it generates.

Regards, Freddie.
twilight
Trained
Trained
Posts: 46
Joined: 14 May 2008, 12:21

Re: MAC users, where are you guys?

Post by twilight »

hehe, I got the problem, thx for the terminal-hint.

As an old linux-guy I should have thought of that!!

Well, it seems that the resolution of my MacBookPro
is not supported anymore. it is 1440x900.

It was supported in 2.0.X of warzone! :-(
EvilGuru
Regular
Regular
Posts: 615
Joined: 23 Jun 2007, 22:41

Re: MAC users, where are you guys?

Post by EvilGuru »

That is strange, the Linux version at least will run quite happily at almost any resolution you can throw at it.

If you can not get Warzone started, then you will need to manually edit (or delete) your config file. This can be found here: ~/Library/Application\ Support/Warzone\ 2100\ 2.1/config edit it such that the width=800 and height=640.

Once you are in-game go: Options -> Video Options and click-through the list of supported video resolutions. We get these directly from SDL. Report back on what is available. It (may) be that Windowed mode is selected, in which case 1440x900 may not be available. So make sure it is set on fullscreen before forcing the resolution to that.

Regards, Freddie.
twilight
Trained
Trained
Posts: 46
Joined: 14 May 2008, 12:21

Re: MAC users, where are you guys?

Post by twilight »

well, it works fine now!!

I have mistyped the resolution, and although checking it, did not found
the flaw :-( It was only when I tryed to type a message here that I accidential
misstyped the ress and checked if I misstyped it likewise when editing the
config-file...

I am sorry :-( But it works :-) *yeah* :-)

But I again found something that should not happen *gg*

1st: The menu-graphics look scattered
2nd: nomatter what map I chose, the ground is black. nothing to see. I can
build (see where the build-preview turns white or red), can move my
vehicles and stuff, but I can't see any of the ground textures or ground
at all, no water, no trees, nothing.
EvilGuru
Regular
Regular
Posts: 615
Joined: 23 Jun 2007, 22:41

Re: MAC users, where are you guys?

Post by EvilGuru »

twilight wrote: 2nd: nomatter what map I chose, the ground is black. nothing to see. I can
build (see where the build-preview turns white or red), can move my
vehicles and stuff, but I can't see any of the ground textures or ground
at all, no water, no trees, nothing.
Third person with that issue. I am still clueless. Can you try -ari build please?

I am suspecting it is an Intel problem.

Regards, Freddie.
twilight
Trained
Trained
Posts: 46
Joined: 14 May 2008, 12:21

Re: MAC users, where are you guys?

Post by twilight »

what does "-ari-build" mean? Do I have to append a command-line option, is it another
build of warzone?

Regards
Locked