Beta-testers for campaign needed

Warzone 2.1.x series. (Unsupported--read only!)
Tucalipe
Trained
Trained
Posts: 108
Joined: 09 Mar 2008, 04:46
Location: São Paulo, São Paulo, Brasil

Re: Beta-testers for campaign needed

Post by Tucalipe » 16 Apr 2008, 22:33

I could beta test as well.
Just give me the version needed. ;D

Troman
Trained
Trained
Posts: 424
Joined: 12 Aug 2006, 15:40
Contact:

Re: Beta-testers for campaign needed

Post by Troman » 16 Apr 2008, 23:12

Tucalipe wrote: I could beta test as well.
Just give me the version needed. ;D
If you are on windows look here.

One more thing: don't use save games from beta 1 and older, they can cause problems with the current version.
Sign Up for Beta-Testing:
?topic=1617.0

ouch
Trained
Trained
Posts: 122
Joined: 13 Nov 2007, 02:01

Re: Beta-testers for campaign needed

Post by ouch » 17 Apr 2008, 07:51

do we want the debug version or non-debug version?

User avatar
Verminus
Trained
Trained
Posts: 121
Joined: 18 Feb 2008, 19:13
Location: Peterborough, England
Contact:

Re: Beta-testers for campaign needed

Post by Verminus » 17 Apr 2008, 10:30

DEBUG!! Otherwise any crash reports are next to useless as the don't have the info the devs need to fix the problems.

Also the debug version has extra crashes (well asserts actually) that happen if something starts doing something it shouldn't, or has an unexpected value.
This is to help the devs find problems that might otherwise go unnoticed.

So get the Debug version if your gonna help beta test!!!

Troman
Trained
Trained
Posts: 424
Joined: 12 Aug 2006, 15:40
Contact:

Re: Beta-testers for campaign needed

Post by Troman » 17 Apr 2008, 15:27

Yes, Debug version is the way to go.
Sign Up for Beta-Testing:
?topic=1617.0

Andariel
Greenhorn
Posts: 12
Joined: 08 Dec 2007, 02:11

Re: Beta-testers for campaign needed

Post by Andariel » 23 Apr 2008, 11:26

do these allow me to play the campaign with double turret heavy tanks?

and do you guys mind if a debug info from crashes is a bit older then the latest build? (as i only get once every week with a bit luck on a pc with inet) so if at all i can only betaplay the latest i loaded (just downthemall'ed the entire files from the latest nightly builds server)

Troman
Trained
Trained
Posts: 424
Joined: 12 Aug 2006, 15:40
Contact:

Re: Beta-testers for campaign needed

Post by Troman » 23 Apr 2008, 14:17

Andariel wrote: do these allow me to play the campaign with double turret heavy tanks?
No, afaik it won't, we try not to alter the campaign data.
Andariel wrote: and do you guys mind if a debug info from crashes is a bit older then the latest build? (as i only get once every week with a bit luck on a pc with inet) so if at all i can only betaplay the latest i loaded (just downthemall'ed the entire files from the latest nightly builds server)
If your revision is >= 4613  then it should be fine. But of course the newer the better.
Sign Up for Beta-Testing:
?topic=1617.0

User avatar
Devil12
Rookie
Rookie
Posts: 31
Joined: 29 Feb 2008, 13:17
Location: Aachen - Germany

Re: Beta-testers for campaign needed

Post by Devil12 » 23 Apr 2008, 19:04

Should I report bugs in this topic, or should I open a new one?
Image

Troman
Trained
Trained
Posts: 424
Joined: 12 Aug 2006, 15:40
Contact:

Re: Beta-testers for campaign needed

Post by Troman » 23 Apr 2008, 21:35

Devil12 wrote: Should I report bugs in this topic, or should I open a new one?
It would be ideal if you could add bugs to the bug tracker if for whatever reason you can't do this a separate topic will work too, we can sticky it then.
Sign Up for Beta-Testing:
?topic=1617.0

User avatar
Verminus
Trained
Trained
Posts: 121
Joined: 18 Feb 2008, 19:13
Location: Peterborough, England
Contact:

Re: Beta-testers for campaign needed

Post by Verminus » 23 Apr 2008, 21:42

edit : Damm.... You beat me to it.
Troman wrote: It would be ideal if you could add bugs to the bug tracker if for whatever reason you can't do this a separate topic will work too, we can sticky it then.

Yea, if you find (or think you found) a bug you should first check the bug-tracker to see if its already there, then add it to the tracker.

Also if your unsure if its a bug or not, you can start a post about it on the forums, and add it to the tracker later if needed.

Tucalipe
Trained
Trained
Posts: 108
Joined: 09 Mar 2008, 04:46
Location: São Paulo, São Paulo, Brasil

Re: Beta-testers for campaign needed

Post by Tucalipe » 26 Apr 2008, 22:16

Just a quick report: I've finished the Western Campagin without bugs (apart from the pathfinding bug, which is present since the last good version :D)

jandd
Greenhorn
Posts: 6
Joined: 28 Jan 2008, 13:51
Location: Dresden, Germany
Contact:

Re: Beta-testers for campaign needed

Post by jandd » 27 Apr 2008, 09:56

I finished alpha campaign yesterday using svn trunk code after finding lots of bugs that were promply fixed by the brave developers. I will continue testing and hope to help releasing the best warzone 2100 2.1 version possible. Thanks to all developers.

User avatar
Laserlight
Trained
Trained
Posts: 55
Joined: 03 May 2007, 16:46
Location: Portsmouth

Re: Beta-testers for campaign needed

Post by Laserlight » 27 Apr 2008, 14:05

Yeah, i will help ya beta test it for ya ;)
Used to do it all the time for Microsoft, did it for vista and sp3 :P
Glad to help ya all :)
Cya


Current hardware:
Graphics card or chip:Intel G965 GPU
Sound: Sound audigy 8.2

Current OS: Windows Xp Vortex SP3
There the only things vital to cause stability issues with this game tbh, if you want loads more detail just ask ;D
I Reject your reality, and substitute my own :P
Image
Image
Image

Troman
Trained
Trained
Posts: 424
Joined: 12 Aug 2006, 15:40
Contact:

Re: Beta-testers for campaign needed

Post by Troman » 27 Apr 2008, 17:29

Could anyone test the last campaign?

We are more or less done with first one and the second one is being tested by at least one beta tester at the moment. It would be ideal for us if someone could already start testing the last campaign.

Thanks again to all beta testers.

EDIT:
to make Warzone start campaign 2 or 3 when you launch it use these command line parameters:

Code: Select all

--game CAM_2A
for the second campaign or

Code: Select all

--game CAM_3A
for the third campaign.
Last edited by Troman on 27 Apr 2008, 17:37, edited 1 time in total.
Sign Up for Beta-Testing:
?topic=1617.0

jandd
Greenhorn
Posts: 6
Joined: 28 Jan 2008, 13:51
Location: Dresden, Germany
Contact:

Re: Beta-testers for campaign needed

Post by jandd » 27 Apr 2008, 20:11

I think it's worth to mention that we should do cross plattform testing for campaigns too. I did only test on Linux/AMD64 and had at least one bug that didn't occur on a developer's M$ Windows box. So in addition to Troman's request to test the last campaign, which is surely of highest priority, the other campaigns should be tested completely on M$ Windows too.

Locked