Terrain dissappears when zooming

Our old place to report Bugs, it's not used anymore. To report bugs, please read this topic.

Terrain dissappears when zooming

Postby Laserlight » 08 May 2007, 16:40

Hi. :)
I have just found this website!
I thought i was the only one who liked warzone (as it didn't sell well)
It’s great that there are people who are rebuilding this game!
Good luck and hope to see some stuff from me. :D
Just one thing though.
I have found I can run the game full screen on a 1024-768 but looks like half that making it look blotchy.
There is one more thing (soz) the floor disappears.
I have played the playstation version and found these problems didn’t exist.
Seya soon. ;D

Edit: Giel: change topic title.
Attachments

[The extension has been deactivated and can no longer be displayed.]

Last edited by Giel on 09 May 2007, 10:25, edited 1 time in total.
I Reject your reality, and substitute my own :P
Image
Image
Image
User avatar
Laserlight
Trained
Trained
 
Posts: 55
Joined: 03 May 2007, 16:46
Location: Portsmouth

Re: Bug

Postby Hatsjoe » 08 May 2007, 18:21

First, do you mean that when you play at half the resolution the game looks blotchy? Because playint at resolutions lower than 1024*768 will most likely don't look good. 800*600 would be kinda allright but any lower would just look very bad. So if this is the case, it's definetly not a bug :)

Second: Ths disappearing terrain is caused by the ultra zoom function. Actually not caused by it, but it most often appears when zooming out or in a lot. In the original warzone, you weren't able to zoom this much so the problem never arised. the possible solution to this problem is to increase the drawing distance i suppose.
Image
User avatar
Hatsjoe
Trained
Trained
 
Posts: 285
Joined: 20 Feb 2007, 19:57

Re: Bug

Postby DevUrandom » 09 May 2007, 07:19

Probably the near clipping plane is too near and/or the camera doesn't collide with the terrain correctly.
User avatar
DevUrandom
Regular
Regular
 
Posts: 1690
Joined: 31 Jul 2006, 23:14

Re: Bug

Postby Giel » 09 May 2007, 10:24

If you would like to report a bug, first read the Bugreporting HowTo

And in a forum that's called "bug-reporting" you don't need to use the word "bug" in the topictitle. But making it be the only word is very indescriptive.
Last edited by Giel on 10 May 2007, 13:47, edited 1 time in total.
"First make sure it works good, only then make it look good." -- Giel
Want to tip/donate? bitcoin:1EaqP4ZPMvUffazTxm7stoduhprzeabeFh
User avatar
Giel
Regular
Regular
 
Posts: 725
Joined: 26 Dec 2006, 19:18

Re: Terrain dissappears when zooming

Postby Laserlight » 10 May 2007, 13:22

Sorry about that. :'(
Thankz but what i meant is it was running at a resolution lower than i wanted it to be.
I had done the shortcut bit with the --fullscreen-- 1024-768- (not actual)
And found it had run in fullscreen but at a resolution of 640-480 (i think) :-\
Its version 2.6 and i had the same problem with 2.5 :o
Thankz and seya soon. :)
I Reject your reality, and substitute my own :P
Image
Image
Image
User avatar
Laserlight
Trained
Trained
 
Posts: 55
Joined: 03 May 2007, 16:46
Location: Portsmouth

Re: Terrain dissappears when zooming

Postby Giel » 10 May 2007, 13:46

Laserlight wrote:I had done the shortcut bit with the --fullscreen-- 1024-768- (not actual)


You should use something like this: ["path\to\warzone2100.exe" --fullscreen --resolution 1024x768]
So firstly, prefix it with "--resolution" and secondly use an 'x' as separator between width and height, like: "widthxheight"
"First make sure it works good, only then make it look good." -- Giel
Want to tip/donate? bitcoin:1EaqP4ZPMvUffazTxm7stoduhprzeabeFh
User avatar
Giel
Regular
Regular
 
Posts: 725
Joined: 26 Dec 2006, 19:18

Re: Terrain dissappears when zooming

Postby Laserlight » 10 May 2007, 14:54

That’s what i did (like i said next to the resolution) but i still have that problem. ???
I don’t seem to have very good quality when playing as it seems squashed and very blurred in a way.
I have tried to fix it with the new version 2.6 but I still haven’t fixed it.
Other then that I have had no problems.
Good work and seya soon.
I Reject your reality, and substitute my own :P
Image
Image
Image
User avatar
Laserlight
Trained
Trained
 
Posts: 55
Joined: 03 May 2007, 16:46
Location: Portsmouth

Re: Terrain dissappears when zooming

Postby Hatsjoe » 10 May 2007, 16:44

Can you copy your entire shortcut target here? We could check what's wrong with it. Many people before thought they did it right but their was always some little error here or there :) believe me, you don't want to play wz @ 640*480
Image
User avatar
Hatsjoe
Trained
Trained
 
Posts: 285
Joined: 20 Feb 2007, 19:57

Re: Terrain dissappears when zooming

Postby Laserlight » 10 May 2007, 16:55

Ok then I will get it tomorrow as I have never had the internet at my home and i have to use my schools internet. :'(
But ok then i will copy it to my flash drive and should i attach it to my post? ;)
Sorry about this but have you seen my quit screen yet on the showcase bit?
soz I just want to see if it does well. :-\
Seya soon.  :D
I Reject your reality, and substitute my own :P
Image
Image
Image
User avatar
Laserlight
Trained
Trained
 
Posts: 55
Joined: 03 May 2007, 16:46
Location: Portsmouth

Re: Terrain dissappears when zooming

Postby Watermelon » 12 May 2007, 17:27

I had that too with any resolutions ranging from 640x480 to 1280x1024.I will see if I can fix it...
tasks postponed until the trunk is relatively stable again.
User avatar
Watermelon
Code contributor
Code contributor
 
Posts: 551
Joined: 08 Oct 2006, 09:37

Re: Terrain dissappears when zooming

Postby Kyor » 13 May 2007, 04:00

That problem does not happens to me in any resolution o.o

But when i zoom, the zoomed 3d models disappear, because i'm zooming inside then, and they're empty x]
Kyor
Trained
Trained
 
Posts: 73
Joined: 03 Apr 2007, 15:28

Re: Terrain dissappears when zooming

Postby Hatsjoe » 13 May 2007, 15:54

Kyor wrote:That problem does not happens to me in any resolution o.o

But when i zoom, the zoomed 3d models disappear, because i'm zooming inside then, and they're empty x]




Jupz, Single sided polygons there. But that's how it's supposed to be. :p
Image
User avatar
Hatsjoe
Trained
Trained
 
Posts: 285
Joined: 20 Feb 2007, 19:57


Return to Bug reporting