Warzone 2100 Crashes on mission Beta 7

Our old place to report Bugs, it's not used anymore. To report bugs, please read this topic.

Warzone 2100 Crashes on mission Beta 7

Postby k4ever » 22 Apr 2007, 08:30

I need help bad with Warzone 2100 version 2.0.6 on Linux and Windows XP.  I started playing the game religiously.  I made it to mission Beta 7 and now Warzone 2100 is crashing every time after the initial briefing is over.  I can't play the game beyond Beta 6.  I tried to post the entire output from the log file, but it exceeds the character limit set for posts on this site.  Here is the last few lines of output:

never:      avt seq=1 [BETA BASE MISSION: Capture NASDA Central]
never:      audio_StopAll called
never:      audio_StopAll done
video:      seq_SetSequence sequences/BrfCom.rpl -> novideo.rpl
main:      Entering main loop
video:      seq_ShutDown
video:      seq_SetSequence sequences/cam2/cam2_DI.rpl -> novideo.rpl
video:      seq_ShutDown
script:    eventFireCallbackTrigger: processing CALL_VIDEO_QUIT
wz:        addMessage: adding message for player 0, type is 2, proximity is 0
video:      seq_ShutDown
script:    intCleanUpIntelMap: interpreter running, storing CALL_VIDEO_QUIT
never:      sequence=0
never:      avt seq=0 [Decoding...]
never:      sequence=1
never:      audio_StopAll called
never:      audio_StopAll done
video:      seq_SetSequence sequences/cam2/cam2DIpl.rpl -> novideo.rpl
video:      seq_ShutDown
script:    eventFireCallbackTrigger: processing CALL_VIDEO_QUIT
wz:        removeMessage: removing message for player 0
video:      seq_ShutDown
script:    eventFireCallbackTrigger: processing CALL_VIDEO_QUIT
video:      seq_ShutDown
video:      seq_SetSequence sequences/cam2/cam2diCO.rpl -> novideo.rpl
video:      seq_ShutDown
script:    eventFireCallbackTrigger: processing CALL_VIDEO_QUIT

PLEASE HELP!!
k4ever
Greenhorn
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 21 Apr 2007, 00:16

Re: Warzone 2100 Crashes on mission Beta 7

Postby DevUrandom » 22 Apr 2007, 12:21

Please zip and attach the savegame.
~/.warzone2100/savegame/ contains a folder and at least one file with the name of your game. We need all of them.
User avatar
DevUrandom
Regular
Regular
 
Posts: 1690
Joined: 31 Jul 2006, 23:14

Re: Warzone 2100 Crashes on mission Beta 7

Postby k4ever » 22 Apr 2007, 17:54

Thanks for your reply.  I attached the save game file, the folder associated with it, and the log file.
Attachments
warzone-stuff.zip
(190.59 KiB) Downloaded 853 times
k4ever
Greenhorn
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 21 Apr 2007, 00:16

Re: Warzone 2100 Crashes on mission Beta 7

Postby DevUrandom » 22 Apr 2007, 19:04

Random info:

intDisplayMessageButton (psWidget=0x899bf88, xOffset=355, yOffset=629, pColours=0x899bfc8) at intelmap.c:1431
1431                    if (pResearch->psStat)
(gdb) bt full
#0  intDisplayMessageButton (psWidget=0x899bf88, xOffset=355, yOffset=629, pColours=0x899bfc8) at intelmap.c:1431
        psBuffer = (RENDERED_BUTTON *) 0x825c41c
        psMsg =
        Down = 16
        IMDType =
        pResearch = (RESEARCH *) 0x0
        psResGraphic =
        __FUNCTION__ = "intDisplayMessageButton"


(gdb) p *(MESSAGE*)psBuffer->Data
$4 = {type = MSG_RESEARCH, id = 312, pViewData = 0xb46aa0e8, read = 1, player = 0, psNext = 0xb22d942c}
(gdb) p *(VIEWDATA*)((MESSAGE*)psBuffer->Data)->pViewData
$8 = {pName = 0xb46aa340 "MB2_DI_MSG2", type = VIEW_RPL, numText = 0 '\0', ppTextMsg = 0x0, pData = 0xb46aa34c}


data/messages/brief2-di.txt:MB2_DI_MSG2,0,1,2,cam2/cam2DIpl.rpl,1,CAM2_B_MSG3,0,0000,cam2/cam2diCO.rpl,0,0,0000
data/script/data/cam2d.vlo:brief[0]     INTMESSAGE      "MB2_DI_MSG"    //"MB2_DI_MSG2"
data/script/data/cam2-ds.vlo:brief[1]   INTMESSAGE      "MB2_DI_MSG2"


There seem to be no MB2_DI_MSG in asResearch[]. Actually I couldn't find anything but RES_* names in it.
Maybe psMsg->type is wrong? Perhaps it should be MSG_CAMPAIGN instead?
Last edited by DevUrandom on 22 Apr 2007, 20:38, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
DevUrandom
Regular
Regular
 
Posts: 1690
Joined: 31 Jul 2006, 23:14

Re: Warzone 2100 Crashes on mission Beta 7

Postby k4ever » 22 Apr 2007, 22:00

I see my topic has been moved to bug-reporting.  Does this mean I won't be playing for a while?
k4ever
Greenhorn
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 21 Apr 2007, 00:16

Re: Warzone 2100 Crashes on mission Beta 7

Postby Hatsjoe » 22 Apr 2007, 22:54

k4ever wrote:I see my topic has been moved to bug-reporting.  Does this mean I won't be playing for a while?


This means that you're bug has been reported and the developers will do their best to solve it. Placing it here doesn't mean it's something like a BIG problem now. It's just to keep the forum nicely organized so other people with the same problem as you re having can easily find this topic. Don't worry :)
Image
User avatar
Hatsjoe
Trained
Trained
 
Posts: 285
Joined: 20 Feb 2007, 19:57

Re: Warzone 2100 Crashes on mission Beta 7

Postby DevUrandom » 22 Apr 2007, 22:56

k4ever wrote:I see my topic has been moved to bug-reporting.  Does this mean I won't be playing for a while?

I don't know what you will be doing, but I/we will try to fix this bug. ;)

The attached savegame should bring you beyond the crash.

Some more info (I don't know if this unusual, though):
error:      Couldn't find msg MB2_DI_MSG2 in researchs!
last message repeated 2 times
last message repeated 2 times (total 4 repeats)
[...]

The message seems to get send over and over again till I close the inteligence screen.

However, if I am beyond the point where it crashes, go back to the intscreen, view the "current objective" again and thus get the cutscene again, everything works and I even get a text in the intscreen which follows.
Attachments
kde1_1.zip
(330.19 KiB) Downloaded 829 times
Last edited by DevUrandom on 22 Apr 2007, 23:08, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
DevUrandom
Regular
Regular
 
Posts: 1690
Joined: 31 Jul 2006, 23:14

Re: Warzone 2100 Crashes on mission Beta 7

Postby k4ever » 22 Apr 2007, 23:17

:)Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!  It seems to work fine!
k4ever
Greenhorn
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 21 Apr 2007, 00:16

Re: Warzone 2100 Crashes on mission Beta 7

Postby DevUrandom » 13 May 2007, 17:20

This is not really fixed, but a workaround will be in 2.0.7.
User avatar
DevUrandom
Regular
Regular
 
Posts: 1690
Joined: 31 Jul 2006, 23:14


Return to Bug reporting