3.1 RC 2 is now out!

The projects speaking tube.
Add your two cents if you want to.

Re: 3.1 RC 2 is now out!

Postby Per » 02 Oct 2012, 16:10

Unit movement is in src/move.cpp

Yes, the path-walking is at times quite bad. But it is a very hard subject matter to handle. Many RTS games have struggled with it, with far more manpower than us.

The old group movement code was well polished, but underneath it was completely horrid and untenable. Long story. Not coming back. Someone has to write a new group code. Again, hard subject matter to handle. Few games have managed to do this well.

Starting position numbers were sacrificed to make space for other things that players requested. Will be fixed when we do a GUI redesign. Something had to give.

Warzone always had strict requirements that units never clip each other. Other games are more fuzzy on this, such as Starcraft 2. If we could allow units to clip through each other whenever they end up in a traffic jams, that problem would disappear. It is not a nice solution, will look bad, but will get the job done.
Per
Warzone 2100 Team Member
Warzone 2100 Team Member
 
Posts: 3625
Joined: 03 Aug 2006, 19:39

Re: 3.1 RC 2 is now out!

Postby p_witvoet » 03 Oct 2012, 00:36

I just tried the latest build and after a frustrating time of continual crashes (the Intel graphics drivers bug...) I tried disabling shaders. That did the trick - I haven't had a single crash since then.

As far as bugs go, I noticed a few issues:
- a Stormbringer AA + Heavy Laser Dragon only fired it's Heavy Laser while moving. Clicking a ground-based enemy to attack it wouldn't get it moving, I had to give a normal move order. I'm not sure it even reacted to attack orders on ground targets at all, it seemed to pick targets by itself.
- captured units retained their current order (they continued firing at my units until I gave them another order, the same went for build orders)
- when selecting captured enemy units, their names were all 'Enemy unit', rather than the actual unit / design name
- I noticed a factory taking twice as long to manufacture units as another one. Both were level 3.
p_witvoet
New user
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 28 Sep 2012, 19:08

Re: 3.1 RC 2 is now out!

Postby Amiral JCDG » 03 Oct 2012, 19:11

Tou should create tickets for your bugs, so it would be easier for the programmers...
It doesn't cost anything to be optimistic...
Official french translator of Warzone 2100 since 3.1.
User avatar
Amiral JCDG
Trained
Trained
 
Posts: 47
Joined: 07 Dec 2011, 21:25
Location: France

Re: 3.1 RC 2 is now out!

Postby ledzgio » 04 Oct 2012, 22:46

I get crashes all the time with 3.1 RC2 on windows 7, while playing multiplayer game (sorry it is in italian):

Firma problema:
Nome evento problema: BEX
Nome applicazione: warzone2100.exe
Versione applicazione: 3.0.999.2
Timestamp applicazione: 5032bc53
Nome modulo con errori: ig4dev32.dll
Versione modulo con errori: 8.15.10.2025
Timestamp modulo con errori: 4b2bd276
Offset eccezione: 002fff33
Codice eccezione: c0000417
Dati eccezione: 00000000
Versione SO: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.48
ID impostazioni locali: 1040
Informazioni aggiuntive 1: 226a
Ulteriori informazioni 2: 226a4de841780e9d2a5e47920ced0e3f
Ulteriori informazioni 3: 74bd
Ulteriori informazioni 4: 74bd6053470d7bd0f1d6bd73def9a2dd
ledzgio
Greenhorn
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 17 Feb 2010, 16:38

Re: 3.1 RC 2 is now out!

Postby NoQ » 05 Oct 2012, 08:44

ledzgio: update your intel graphics driver.
User avatar
NoQ
Special
Special
 
Posts: 6090
Joined: 24 Dec 2009, 11:35
Location: /var/zone

Re: 3.1 RC 2 is now out!

Postby raymond » 07 Oct 2012, 00:00

New RC?
raymond
Rookie
Rookie
 
Posts: 19
Joined: 02 Sep 2011, 18:38

Re: 3.1 RC 2 is now out!

Postby ledzgio » 07 Oct 2012, 16:23

NoQ wrote:ledzgio: update your intel graphics driver.


It is already at the latest version. Anyway, compiled on ubuntu and it works like a charm!

Good job, waiting for final release.
ledzgio
Greenhorn
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 17 Feb 2010, 16:38

Previous

Return to News and announcements