3.1 beta4 has been released! (And beta3 has been skipped.)

The projects speaking tube.
Add your two cents if you want to.

3.1 beta4 has been released! (And beta3 has been skipped.)

Postby cybersphinx » 21 Feb 2012, 23:56

3.1 beta3 has been tagged but not published due to problems, so now here's beta4.

Changes since beta2: New shortcuts to select units (you need to reset your key configuration for them to become active) and lots of bugfixes, see the changelog below.

If you notice issues with savegames, please try if they're reproducible with a game started from the current version. Old savegames can probably be loaded, but they might already contain wrong data.

Known Issues:
See also: http://developer.wz2100.net/report/17

Bug Reports:
This release probably contains bugs, please report them so they can be fixed. If you have trouble getting the game to work at all, consider a forum thread, you will probably get help faster that way.

See BugReporting for details, in short:
  • Search the existing tickets for your problem, if the problem has already been fixed in git, the ticket will be closed.
  • If there is an open one already, feel free to add more info to it.
  • If there is no report yet, make a new ticket (one per issue).
  • Be as detailed as possible in both summary and description, and either log in with your forum account or leave an email address so we can contact you if we need more information.
  • The more information we have, the easier it is to fix problems (or the other way around, the harder it is for us to reproduce a problem, the less likely it is to get fixed), so include savegames/instructions to reproduce the bug, crashdumps, backtraces, screenshots for graphical problems... whatever is relevant.
  • When you attach files to a ticket, please add each text/image file separately and uncompressed, so we can view them easily in trac (savegames can and should be zipped, they consist of name.gam, possibly name.es, and the files in the name/ folder).

About the 3.1 series:
The 3.1 series is the first based on the new netcode, with new terrain renderer and many other changes. The main target are systems capable of OpenGL 2.0 (with shaders), but at least the important things like team colours should work with OpenGL 1.4+ (some things might look strange though).

Configuration uses a new directory, if you want to use old mods/maps/savegames, you need to copy them (see FileLocations). Note that savegames from 2.3 and 3.0 are incompatible, only those from newer master snapshots might still work. For mods it depends on what they do, don't expect old mods to work either.

2.3 is now officially unsupported.

Changes since the 2.3 series:
(Items marked with a * were already in the cancelled 3.0 series)
  • New terrain renderer*
  • Support for 3*/5*/6*/7*/9/10 player maps
  • Targetting by line of sight, preventing shooting through terrain or too early*
  • Gates in multiplayer games
  • New deterministic netcode that makes sure the same things actually happen for all players, should be much more cheating-resistant
  • New power system, power is deducted in full at the start, and when power is low, in the order things were queued
  • Unit targeting is more intelligent, they won't all shoot one target when one shot is sufficient
  • Remove fog of war/mist options in favour of a combined explored/seen mode
  • Stored templates. Automatically adds a unit design when all needed research is available
  • Command line parameters now need a '=' (which was optional before), e.g. --resolution=1400x1050
  • Apple systems: Drop support for PPC and Mac OS X 10.4, add support for 64 bit Intel on Mac OS X 10.6+

Changelog for 3.1 beta4:
General
  • Change: New keyboard shortcuts for unit selection:
    * Ctrl+C: All cyborgs
    * Shift+C: All cyborgs with weapons
    * Shift+E: All cyborg engineers
    * Shift+G: All ground based attack units including hovers
    * Shift+M: All cyborg mechanics
    * Shift+P: All transporters
    * Shift+R: All tanks with repair turrets
    * Shift+S: All sensor units
    * Shift+T: All trucks
  • Fix: Prevent features with low health from becoming indestructible (#3134, 2fc761a304)
  • Fix: Correctly use unit speed modifiers (#3140, 5a3925391e)
  • Fix: Don't fire Lassat too many times when clicking fast (#3163, ea8d833e5c)
  • Fix: Clear tile after destroying a feature (#3155, db74b52388)
  • Fix: Correctly check for needed OpenGL versions and extensions (a7d2c06c28)
UIMultiplayer
  • Change: Allow configuring preferred player colour (cefd4179f7)
  • Change: Make the Super Transport faster, lower armour, updated model (78dd89477c)
  • Change: Add in-game kick by right+left clicking over the player's channel icon (9a005ac66e)
  • Fix: Allow kicking players in non-alliance mode again (#3121, 9a005ac66e)
  • Fix: Make sure we run Nexus AI on the correct players when some players use javascript-based AIs (#3137, 9d616939ec)
  • Fix: Allow private messages to players 8 and 9 (#3141, e581b840d6)
  • Fix: Update hosting screen for ten players, move Limits and Start Hosting buttons (#3157, ac3b802a44)
Campaign
  • Fix: Enable minimap and unit design in away missions when an HQ exists in the remote base (#3182, 391ffb621e)
Mods
  • Change: Remove old-1.10-balance mod, since it was broken (5694a6fded)
TranslationsChangelog for older versions: https://github.com/Warzone2100/warzone2100/blob/master/ChangeLog
Full list of changes since 3.1_beta2: https://github.com/Warzone2100/warzone2100/compare/v3.1_beta2...v3.1_beta4

Download:
As usual, downloads can be found on our download page or directly on Sourceforge.
We want information... information... information.
cybersphinx
Inactive
Inactive
 
Posts: 1588
Joined: 01 Sep 2006, 18:17

Re: 3.1 beta4 has been released! (And beta3 has been skipped

Postby zany » 22 Feb 2012, 00:09

what problems did beta 3 have? shouldn't there be a log of what the problem was?
zany
Trained
Trained
 
Posts: 303
Joined: 20 Sep 2011, 06:04

Re: 3.1 beta4 has been released! (And beta3 has been skipped

Postby zany » 22 Feb 2012, 00:14

not fixed :annoyed:
the loading screen doesn't show fast enough when you are not the host
where did the intelligence screen stats go in multiplayer? hit f5 and there is no info about what you just researched
the speed settings are written in a odd way. 5/2 3/2 5/4 and you can set it below what is allowed in 2.3.9
when you zoom all the way out your buildings looked damaged even if they are at full health
zany
Trained
Trained
 
Posts: 303
Joined: 20 Sep 2011, 06:04

Re: 3.1 beta4 has been released! (And beta3 has been skipped

Postby NoQ » 22 Feb 2012, 00:28

Hey, how come the file size is so ... small? Just 60mb. And it works :shock:
User avatar
NoQ
Elite
Elite
 
Posts: 5607
Joined: 24 Dec 2009, 10:35
Location: /var/zone

Re: 3.1 beta4 has been released! (And beta3 has been skipped

Postby zany » 22 Feb 2012, 01:10

visual bug, the transport and cyborg transport are HUGE in the scoreboard screen
you can also hide things in the big transport like the smaller one or have multiple big ones look like one unit
zany
Trained
Trained
 
Posts: 303
Joined: 20 Sep 2011, 06:04

Re: 3.1 beta4 has been released! (And beta3 has been skipped

Postby aubergine » 22 Feb 2012, 01:26

This is a bit ugly:

Image

Would it look nicer if you just made the border around the power bar pulse red when more resources are needed?

Also, I'm not sure "Need more resources!" is much help - experienced players know what to do already, and noobs aren't going to know how to get more resources.
"Dedicated to discovering Warzone artefacts, and sharing them freely for the benefit of the community."
-- https://warzone.atlassian.net/wiki/display/GO
User avatar
aubergine
Professional
Professional
 
Posts: 3459
Joined: 09 Oct 2010, 23:58

Re: 3.1 beta4 has been released! (And beta3 has been skipped

Postby effigy » 22 Feb 2012, 01:32

aubergine wrote:This is a bit ugly:

Image

Would it look nicer if you just made the border around the power bar pulse red when more resources are needed?

Also, I'm not sure "Need more resources!" is much help - experienced players know what to do already, and noobs aren't going to know how to get more resources.



How about the enlarged red negative power level being placed to the left of the power bar?
This is why some features aren't implemented: http://forums.wz2100.net/viewtopic.php?f=30&t=7490&view=unread#p87241
User avatar
effigy
Regular
Regular
 
Posts: 1217
Joined: 22 Jan 2010, 02:21

Re: 3.1 beta4 has been released! (And beta3 has been skipped

Postby zany » 22 Feb 2012, 01:43

aubergine wrote:This is a bit ugly:

Image

Would it look nicer if you just made the border around the power bar pulse red when more resources are needed?

Also, I'm not sure "Need more resources!" is much help - experienced players know what to do already, and noobs aren't going to know how to get more resources.

the game tells you when you locate a resource with the voice prompt that is how noobs know what a resource is. how about you guys make a low battery type symbol appear above the power bar? changing it red is a good thing
zany
Trained
Trained
 
Posts: 303
Joined: 20 Sep 2011, 06:04

Re: 3.1 beta4 has been released! (And beta3 has been skipped

Postby zany » 22 Feb 2012, 02:27

you still can't kick people when you don't play a team game in the setup screen :annoyed:
zany
Trained
Trained
 
Posts: 303
Joined: 20 Sep 2011, 06:04

Re: 3.1 beta4 has been released! (And beta3 has been skipped

Postby aubergine » 22 Feb 2012, 03:26

Or just make the power bar border and background go red? With power amount shown in white text (but normal size) = high contrast.

In terms of the "Need more resources!" text, I think it should just be removed - we should assume people go through the tutorial first?
"Dedicated to discovering Warzone artefacts, and sharing them freely for the benefit of the community."
-- https://warzone.atlassian.net/wiki/display/GO
User avatar
aubergine
Professional
Professional
 
Posts: 3459
Joined: 09 Oct 2010, 23:58

Re: 3.1 beta4 has been released! (And beta3 has been skipped

Postby vexed » 22 Feb 2012, 04:31

zany wrote:you still can't kick people when you don't play a team game in the setup screen :annoyed:

You can, you press right+left mouse button over the player you want to kick, ready button.

zany wrote:what problems did beta 3 have? shouldn't there be a log of what the problem was?

See, it wanted to understand the sync issues with 2.3.9, so it tried to mimic it, and the next thing you know, it randomly exploded sometime overnight.
/facepalm ...Grinch stole Warzone🙈🙉🙊
User avatar
vexed
Inactive
Inactive
 
Posts: 1510
Joined: 27 Jul 2010, 01:07

Re: 3.1 beta4 has been released! (And beta3 has been skipped

Postby Searge-Major » 22 Feb 2012, 10:45

vexed wrote:See, it wanted to understand the sync issues with 2.3.9, so it tried to mimic it, and the next thing you know, it randomly exploded sometime overnight.


Lol. :lol2: Makes sense in a strange sort of way... :wink:

Anyway, as soon as I can get the driver version updated, I'll be very happy to test.

To quote Greedo, I've been looking forward to this for a long time... :ninja:
I fully realise my input is just another drop in the proverbial bucket. It is my goal to make each drop count.
Searge-Major
Trained
Trained
 
Posts: 182
Joined: 10 Sep 2011, 02:36
Location: Great Southern region, Western Australia

Re: 3.1 beta4 has been released! (And beta3 has been skipped

Postby Terminator » 22 Feb 2012, 12:26

NoQ wrote:Hey, how come the file size is so ... small? Just 60mb. And it works :shock:


I've look, seems like textures size had been reduced significantly (from 2048 > to > 512 ). Will see how its effects on game.

On my notebook nothing changes - thats good :)
Death is the only way out... sh*t Happens !

Russian-speaking wz site http://warzone2100.org.ua
User avatar
Terminator
Regular
Regular
 
Posts: 917
Joined: 05 Aug 2006, 12:46
Location: Ukraine

Re: 3.1 beta4 has been released! (And beta3 has been skipped

Postby Asgorath » 22 Feb 2012, 18:29

Terminator wrote:
NoQ wrote:Hey, how come the file size is so ... small? Just 60mb. And it works :shock:


I've look, seems like textures size had been reduced significantly (from 2048 > to > 512 ). Will see how its effects on game.

On my notebook nothing changes - thats good :)

In video-settings I can still adjust textures size? 1.10 mod has been removed. Maybe that´s one of the reasons the game is smaller now?
User avatar
Asgorath
Trained
Trained
 
Posts: 153
Joined: 10 Dec 2010, 15:45
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Re: 3.1 beta4 has been released! (And beta3 has been skipped

Postby Iluvalar » 22 Feb 2012, 19:00

Change: New keyboard shortcuts for unit selection: ...

We need one for the vtols with full ammo supply, when we select all vtols we send those who are empty or in the charging bay which is not a good thing.
Heretic 2.3 improver and proud of it.
User avatar
Iluvalar
Regular
Regular
 
Posts: 1728
Joined: 02 Oct 2010, 17:44

Next

Return to News and announcements