Hotfix 1 for 2.0.7

The projects speaking tube.
Add your two cents if you want to.

Hotfix 1 for 2.0.7

Postby DevUrandom » 30 Jun 2007, 23:49

A bug in 2.0.7 was discovered which will make it impossible to advance from campaign 1 to 2 and from 2 to 3. Multiplayer mode is not affected.

Everyone who wants to play the campaign should download the hotfix mod, copy it into ${warzone_directory}/mods/global/ and start Warzone with the "--mod warzone2100-2.0.7_hotfix1.wz" commandline parameter. (Windows users may want to have a look at the explanational screenshot.)

Distributions should apply the hotfix patch and create an updated package.

Sorry for the inconvenience,
DevUrandom
Last edited by DevUrandom on 30 Jun 2007, 23:59, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
DevUrandom
Regular
Regular
 
Posts: 1690
Joined: 31 Jul 2006, 23:14

Re: Hotfix 1 for 2.0.7

Postby Gotcha14 » 01 Jul 2007, 04:13

these solutions are not working for me.

DevUrandom wrote:A bug in 2.0.7 was discovered which will make it impossible to advance from campaign 1 to 2 and from 2 to 3. Multiplayer mode is not affected.

Everyone who wants to play the campaign should download the hotfix mod, copy it into ${warzone_directory}/mods/global/ and start Warzone with the "--mod warzone2100-2.0.7_hotfix1.wz" commandline parameter. (Windows users may want to have a look at the explanational screenshot.)

Distributions should apply the hotfix patch and create an updated package.

Sorry for the inconvenience,
DevUrandom


Is the command line to be 1. "--mod warzone2100-2.0.7_hotfix1.wz"  or 2. --mod grim.wz --fullscreen --viewport 1280x1024 ???

I tried both anyway and neither worked.  The patch doesnt open. I put patch where instructed mod/global/ and not doing anything.

Tried replacing the warzone.wz with one I found on this forum warzone2100-2.0.7_hotfix1.wz but nothing worked. (did not alter file names).

So bottom line is I crash going from campaign 1 to 2.

HELP!!

//Edit (Giel): wrap quote in quote tags
Last edited by Giel on 01 Jul 2007, 12:54, edited 1 time in total.
Gotcha14
New user
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 01 Jul 2007, 03:46

Re: Hotfix 1 for 2.0.7

Postby DevUrandom » 01 Jul 2007, 11:56

"...\warzone2100.exe" --mod warzone2100-2.0.7_hotfix1.wz --mod grim.wz --fullscreen --viewport 1280x1024

Should work...

I guess "it doesn't work" means that you still cannot advance from campaign 1 to 2? It does not mean that it crashes anytime before that?

You have to put the mod into "mods/global" and not "mod/global".

If that all doesn't help, please add "--debug wz" to the commandline options and attach the file "stdout.txt" from the warzone directory to this thread. ("Additional Options...")
User avatar
DevUrandom
Regular
Regular
 
Posts: 1690
Joined: 31 Jul 2006, 23:14

Re: Hotfix 1 for 2.0.7

Postby italian » 01 Jul 2007, 22:41

Thaank U!  ;D
But it doesn't work because it appears a runtime error!  :-[
here is the (long) log of stderr.txt (with hotfix):
Code: Select all
wz:         Warzone 2100 - Version 2.0.7 - Built Jun 22 2007
wz:         Compiled against PhysFS version: 1.0.1
wz:         Linked against PhysFS version: 1.0.1
wz:         Write dir: C:\Documents and Settings\Michael\Documenti\Warzone 2100\
wz:         Base dir: C:\Programmi\Warzone 2100\
wz:         Loading the registry from config
wz:         Parsing the registry from config
wz:         Saving the registry to config
wz:         We are to write (config) as (config) of size 581
wz:         Successfully wrote to C:\Documents and Settings\Michael\Documenti\Warzone 2100\\config with 581 bytes
wz:         Saving the registry to config
wz:         We are to write (config) as (config) of size 581
wz:         Successfully wrote to C:\Documents and Settings\Michael\Documenti\Warzone 2100\\config with 581 bytes
wz:         Writing prefs to registry
wz:         Saving the registry to config
wz:         We are to write (config) as (config) of size 581
wz:         Successfully wrote to C:\Documents and Settings\Michael\Documenti\Warzone 2100\\config with 581 bytes
wz:         registerSearchPath: Registering C:\Documents and Settings\Michael\Documenti\Warzone 2100\ at priority 2
wz:         rebuildSearchPath: Cleaning up
wz:         rebuildSearchPath: Switching to multiplay mods
wz:         registerSearchPath: Registering C:\Programmi/data/ at priority 3
wz:         rebuildSearchPath: Cleaning up
wz:         rebuildSearchPath: Switching to multiplay mods
wz:         registerSearchPath: Registering C:\Programmi/share/warzone2100/ at priority 4
wz:         rebuildSearchPath: Cleaning up
wz:         rebuildSearchPath: Switching to multiplay mods
wz:         registerSearchPath: Registering C:\Programmi\Warzone 2100\ at priority 5
wz:         rebuildSearchPath: Cleaning up
wz:         rebuildSearchPath: Switching to multiplay mods
wz:         Search paths:
wz:             [C:\Documents and Settings\Michael\Documenti\Warzone 2100\]
wz:             [C:\Programmi\Warzone 2100\mods/global\warzone2100-2.0.7_hotfix1.wz]
wz:             [C:\Programmi\Warzone 2100\mp.wz]
wz:             [C:\Programmi\Warzone 2100\]
wz:             [C:\Programmi\Warzone 2100\warzone.wz]
wz:         gamedesc.lev found at C:\Programmi\Warzone 2100\warzone.wz
wz:         resLoad: loading wrf/frontend.wrf
wz:         Saving the registry to config
wz:         We are to write (config) as (config) of size 581
wz:         Successfully wrote to C:\Documents and Settings\Michael\Documenti\Warzone 2100\\config with 581 bytes
wz:         _addLoadSave(1, savegame/, gam, Load Saved Game)
wz:         _addLoadSave: Searching "savegame/" for savegames
wz:         _addLoadSave: We found [bbbb.gam]
wz:         _addLoadSave: We found [complete.gam]
wz:         _addLoadSave: We found [finished.gam]
wz:         _addLoadSave: We found [jjj.gam]
wz:         _addLoadSave: We found [map1.gam]
wz:         Writing prefs to registry
wz:         Saving the registry to config
wz:         We are to write (config) as (config) of size 581
wz:         Successfully wrote to C:\Documents and Settings\Michael\Documenti\Warzone 2100\\config with 581 bytes
wz:         TEXPAGE resource: page-24(45b5e64) not used
wz:         TEXPAGE resource: page-23(45b5e63) not used
wz:         TEXPAGE resource: page-22(45b5e62) not used
wz:         TEXPAGE resource: page-21(45b5e61) not used
wz:         TEXPAGE resource: page-20(45b5e60) not used
wz:         TEXPAGE resource: page-19(45b5e79) not used
wz:         TEXPAGE resource: page-18(45b5e78) not used
wz:         TEXPAGE resource: page-17(45b5e77) not used
wz:         TEXPAGE resource: page-16(45b5e76) not used
wz:         TEXPAGE resource: page-15(45b5e75) not used
wz:         TEXPAGE resource: page-14(45b5e74) not used
wz:         TEXPAGE resource: page-13(45b5e73) not used
wz:         TEXPAGE resource: page-12(45b5e72) not used
wz:         TEXPAGE resource: page-11(45b5e71) not used
wz:         TEXPAGE resource: page-10(45b5e70) not used
wz:         TEXPAGE resource: page-9(545b5e9) not used
wz:         TEXPAGE resource: page-8(545b5e8) not used
wz:         TEXPAGE resource: page-7(545b5e7) not used
wz:         TEXPAGE resource: page-6(545b5e6) not used
wz:         STR_RES resource: names.txt(1a46bb4) not used
wz:         STR_RES resource: strings.txt(29caf34) not used
wz:         Loading level CAM_2A
wz:         levLoadData: Found CAMCHANGE dataset
wz:         rebuildSearchPath: Cleaning up
wz:         rebuildSearchPath: Switching to campaign mods
wz:         levLoadData: Loading wrf/vidmem.wrf ...
wz:         resLoad: loading wrf/vidmem.wrf
wz:         levLoadData: Loading wrf/basic.wrf ...
wz:         resLoad: loading wrf/basic.wrf
wz:         levLoadData: Loading wrf/cam1.wrf ...
wz:         resLoad: loading wrf/cam1.wrf
wz:         levLoadData: Loading wrf/audio.wrf ...
wz:         resLoad: loading wrf/audio.wrf
wz:         levLoadData: Loading wrf/piestats.wrf ...
wz:         resLoad: loading wrf/piestats.wrf
wz:         levLoadData: Loading wrf/stats.wrf ...
wz:         resLoad: loading wrf/stats.wrf
wz:         levLoadData: Loading wrf/cam1res.wrf ...
wz:         resLoad: loading wrf/cam1res.wrf
wz:         levLoadData: Loading wrf/cam2/cam2change.wrf
wz:         resLoad: loading wrf/cam2/cam2change.wrf
wz:         Loading scenario file wrf/cam2/cam2start.gam
wz:         levLoadData: LDS_CAMCHANGE
error:      buildStructure: trying to build too many research facilities
error:      Assert in Warzone: structure.c:2008 : buildStructure (FALSE)

so:
Code: Select all
error:      buildStructure: trying to build too many research facilities
error:      Assert in Warzone: structure.c:2008 : buildStructure (FALSE)
Last edited by italian on 01 Jul 2007, 23:15, edited 1 time in total.
italian
Rookie
Rookie
 
Posts: 19
Joined: 20 Feb 2007, 18:51

Re: Hotfix 1 for 2.0.7

Postby DevUrandom » 01 Jul 2007, 23:48

Does that happen right when loading? Or some time afterwards?
Did you cheat a research facility?
How many research facilities did you build in campaign 1?
Last edited by DevUrandom on 01 Jul 2007, 23:53, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
DevUrandom
Regular
Regular
 
Posts: 1690
Joined: 31 Jul 2006, 23:14

Re: Hotfix 1 for 2.0.7

Postby Giel » 02 Jul 2007, 00:25

Also if a .mdmp file is produced, please attach it to your post (it might help us debugging).
"First make sure it works good, only then make it look good." -- Giel
Want to tip/donate? bitcoin:1EaqP4ZPMvUffazTxm7stoduhprzeabeFh
User avatar
Giel
Regular
Regular
 
Posts: 725
Joined: 26 Dec 2006, 19:18

Re: Hotfix 1 for 2.0.7

Postby italian » 02 Jul 2007, 12:46

DevUrandom wrote:Does that happen right when loading? Or some time afterwards?
Did you cheat a research facility?
How many research facilities did you build in campaign 1?

1 to 2 with 15 research facilities (test champaign with cheat)
But I demolished one and it functions!  ;D
italian
Rookie
Rookie
 
Posts: 19
Joined: 20 Feb 2007, 18:51

Re: Hotfix 1 for 2.0.7

Postby DevUrandom » 02 Jul 2007, 18:18

The problem here is clearly that you reached the 15 building facs limit via cheats and C2 gave you one or more additional facs.
So buggy code together with cheats => boom.
User avatar
DevUrandom
Regular
Regular
 
Posts: 1690
Joined: 31 Jul 2006, 23:14

Re: Hotfix 1 for 2.0.7

Postby GiGaBaNE » 04 Jul 2007, 03:49

i have a question of which im sure the answer will interests many...

if we use --mod warzone2100-2.0.7_hotfix1.wz to run the application....do we need to run it every time we play or is it a run once command?

and if it every time, then do we have a limit on how many command line paramiters we can add?

and of course im assuming the hot fix will be integral to the next version..which is when? wink wink  ;D
Last edited by lav_coyote25 on 04 Jul 2007, 06:44, edited 1 time in total.
Version: master-20110320 QT
VGA:Nvidia GeForce GT 220
Driver in use: 6.14.12.6658
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual 4200+
RAM: 2 x DDR-II 1GB corsair
OS: WinXP sp3
GiGaBaNE
Trained
Trained
 
Posts: 262
Joined: 24 Jun 2007, 17:51

Re: Hotfix 1 for 2.0.7

Postby Giel » 04 Jul 2007, 15:05

GiGaBaNE wrote:if we use --mod warzone2100-2.0.7_hotfix1.wz to run the application....do we need to run it every time we play or is it a run once command?

Yes, you need to use it every time you run Warzone 2100.

GiGaBaNE wrote:and if it every time, then do we have a limit on how many command line paramiters we can add?

There is no such limit imposed on this by Warzone 2100. Your operating system most likely does impose a limit of some kind on the parameter list's length, what that is depends on your specific operating system.

GiGaBaNE wrote:and of course im assuming the hot fix will be integral to the next version..

Yes it will be part of every next release.

GiGaBaNE wrote:which is when? wink wink  ;D

When we find it necessary to release a new version.
"First make sure it works good, only then make it look good." -- Giel
Want to tip/donate? bitcoin:1EaqP4ZPMvUffazTxm7stoduhprzeabeFh
User avatar
Giel
Regular
Regular
 
Posts: 725
Joined: 26 Dec 2006, 19:18

Re: Hotfix 1 for 2.0.7

Postby italian » 13 Jul 2007, 22:21

But I prefer to play/playing without hotfix because some buildings don't appear correctly.
Attachments
buggy buildings.png
Last edited by italian on 13 Jul 2007, 22:32, edited 1 time in total.
italian
Rookie
Rookie
 
Posts: 19
Joined: 20 Feb 2007, 18:51

Re: Hotfix 1 for 2.0.7

Postby Kamaze » 13 Jul 2007, 22:28

Looks like wrong texture pages.
We all have the same heaven, but not the same horizon.
User avatar
Kamaze
Regular
Regular
 
Posts: 1017
Joined: 30 Jul 2006, 15:23
Location: Germany

Re: Hotfix 1 for 2.0.7

Postby italian » 13 Jul 2007, 22:43

Note that I was playing with the hotfix.
italian
Rookie
Rookie
 
Posts: 19
Joined: 20 Feb 2007, 18:51

Re: Hotfix 1 for 2.0.7

Postby RasCricket » 14 Jul 2007, 21:03

Hi. Im new around here and extremely thankful that you guys have brought one of my favorite games of all time back to life. Even if my GF isnt so happy about it, hehe.

Befroe, I has only played it on PlayStation and have always longed for merely a harder version. The PC version on Hard seems definitly a little tougher. Neddless to say, Im pleased as punch.

When I found the Campaign Advance Bug, I was crushed. But I followed the directions and it seems to work. I have the first mission of the next Camp. waiting, so I gtg!

I dont have the "--grimmod" or whatever activated in my command line and I saw that the person who did the bug fix/patch had it in their command line.

Whats that mod and what am I missing? Thanks again--you guys are the best
RasCricket
New user
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 14 Jul 2007, 20:38

Re: Hotfix 1 for 2.0.7

Postby lav_coyote25 » 14 Jul 2007, 21:30

--grim mod is an improved tertile set and an improved wall gfx set...  and the cannons gfx is also improved...
‎"to prepare for disaster is to invite it, to not prepare for disaster is a fools choice" -me (kim-lav_coyote25-metcalfe) - it used to be attributed to unknown - but adding the last bit , it now makes sense.
User avatar
lav_coyote25
Professional
Professional
 
Posts: 3434
Joined: 08 Aug 2006, 23:18

Next

Return to News and announcements