3.3.0 (Beta) Multiplayer issues

The projects speaking tube.
Add your two cents if you want to.
User avatar
vexed
Inactive
Inactive
Posts: 2508
Joined: 27 Jul 2010, 02:07

3.3.0 (Beta) Multiplayer issues

Post by vexed » 11 Feb 2019, 04:48

We really need people to be using the 3.3.0 (beta) versions of the game for multiplayer.

Please report any issues you may run into!

We would like to fix things ASAP, so, if something is wrong, SPEAK UP!

Thanks!
/facepalm ...Grinch stole Warzone🙈🙉🙊 contra principia negantem non est disputandum
Super busy, don't expect a timely reply back.

User avatar
Berg
Regular
Regular
Posts: 2096
Joined: 02 Sep 2007, 23:25
Location: Australia

Re: 3.3.0 (Beta) Multiplayer issues

Post by Berg » 11 Feb 2019, 16:08

The Tarball don't work it's not even set to the right version in SF

If you want to get the git version first you need to get master and then switch to 3.3.0-beta1
To get master

Code: Select all

git clone git://github.com/Warzone2100/warzone2100
cd warzone2100
git submodule update --init --recursive
in the folder you want to store warzone
Then you can change to the 3.3.0-beta1 branch with the below commands

I did

Code: Select all

git pull --tags
in the master version
Then change the branch to 3.3.0-beta1
with

Code: Select all

git checkout 3.3.0-beta1
Then compile it using the commands.

Code: Select all

./autogen.sh
./configure &&  make
After you have compiled it you can.

Code: Select all

./src/warzone2100
And you are ready I hope!!!

User avatar
WZ2100ModsFAn
Trained
Trained
Posts: 287
Joined: 15 Apr 2018, 17:25
Location: United States.

Re: 3.3.0 (Beta) Multiplayer issues

Post by WZ2100ModsFAn » 12 Feb 2019, 02:09

How do i install all of the missing dependencies before doing ./configure?
The game will say things like missing Harfbuzz.
Apologies if i dont see your post
central time usa

User avatar
Berg
Regular
Regular
Posts: 2096
Joined: 02 Sep 2007, 23:25
Location: Australia

Re: 3.3.0 (Beta) Multiplayer issues

Post by Berg » 12 Feb 2019, 04:11

WZ2100ModsFAn wrote:
12 Feb 2019, 02:09
w do i install all of the missing dependencies before doing ./configure?
The game will say things like missing Harfbuzz.
Sorry my bad

Distributions using dpkg/apt (Debian, Mint, Ubuntu)
Debian (tested for version 9.3.0)

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install -y autoconf build-essential zip pkg-config qtscript5-dev libsdl2-dev libpng-dev libtheora-dev libopenal-dev libvorbis-dev libglew-dev libphysfs-dev libfribidi-dev libfreetype6-dev libharfbuzz-dev libfontconfig1-dev gdb asciidoc-base wkhtmltopdf gettext
Mint (tested for version 18.3)

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install -y autoconf automake build-essential qtscript5-dev libpng12-dev libtheora-dev libopenal-dev libvorbis-dev libglew-dev libphysfs-dev libfribidi-dev libfreetype6-dev libharfbuzz-dev libfontconfig1-dev libgl1-mesa-dev gdb docbook-xsl libxml2-utils xsltproc asciidoc wkhtmltopdf gettext
To satisfy the dependency SDL >= 2.0.5, use one of the following methods:

install SDL 2.0.7 manually by following ​these instructions
install SDL 2.0.6 from the repositories of Ubuntu 17.10 Artful Aardvark (supported until July 2018):

User avatar
Prot
Trained
Trained
Posts: 169
Joined: 29 Nov 2010, 12:41

Re: 3.3.0 (Beta) Multiplayer issues

Post by Prot » 12 Feb 2019, 18:24

Have a problem, the game do not use IPv4, debug:

Code: Select all

net     |08:15:53: [socketListen:1294] Successfully created an IPv4 socket (0x558eddff9cc0)
net     |08:15:53: [socketListen:1299] Successfully created an IPv6 socket (0x558eddff9cc0)
net     |08:15:53: [socketListen:1311] Successfully enabled IPv4 to IPv6 mapping. Cleaning up IPv4 socket.
net     |08:15:53: [socketListen:1351] setting socket (0x558eddff9cc0) blocking status (false, IPv6).
net     |08:15:53: [setSocketBlocking:834] Socket is set to non-blocking.
net     |08:15:53: [NEThostGame:2660] New tcp_socket = 0x558eddff9cc0
net     |08:15:53: [NEThostGame:2741] Hosting a server. We are player 0.
net     |08:15:53: [socketOpen:1136] Connecting to [88.198.45.216]:9990
net     |08:15:53: [socketOpen:1153] setting socket (0x558ede0122c0) blocking status (false).
net     |08:15:53: [setSocketBlocking:834] Socket is set to non-blocking.
net     |08:15:54: [NETregisterServer:2222] Using game ID: 689
net     |08:15:54: [NETsendGAMESTRUCT:811] sending GAMESTRUCT, size: 814
net     |08:15:56: [readAll:970] socket (0x558ede0122c0) has timed out.
net     |08:15:56: [readAll:973] socket (0x558ede0122c0) error.
error   |08:15:56: [readLobbyResponse:2120] Error while connecting to the lobby server: Время ожидания соединения истекло
Make sure port 2100 can receive incoming connections.
I also do not see any 2100 open port in ipv4, the game listen 2100 only on ipv6

Code: Select all

root@powerman:/home/prot# netstat -tnlup | grep 2100
tcp6       0      0 :::2100                 :::*                    LISTEN      11826/warzone2100   
udp        0      0 0.0.0.0:41088           0.0.0.0:*                           11826/warzone2100 

User avatar
Berg
Regular
Regular
Posts: 2096
Joined: 02 Sep 2007, 23:25
Location: Australia

Re: 3.3.0 (Beta) Multiplayer issues

Post by Berg » 12 Feb 2019, 23:39

Please enable unit orders in the menu again.
please enable pursue.
please enable hold position

alfred007
Regular
Regular
Posts: 514
Joined: 31 Jul 2016, 06:25
Location: Stuttgart, Germany

Re: 3.3.0 (Beta) Multiplayer issues

Post by alfred007 » 13 Feb 2019, 00:14

Berg wrote: Please enable unit orders in the menu again.
please enable pursue.
please enable hold position
There is a ticket for that. Ticket #4303 is assigned to Forgon. Talk to him if you want.

User avatar
Berg
Regular
Regular
Posts: 2096
Joined: 02 Sep 2007, 23:25
Location: Australia

Re: 3.3.0 (Beta) Multiplayer issues

Post by Berg » 13 Feb 2019, 08:04

alfred007 wrote:
13 Feb 2019, 00:14
There is a ticket for that. Ticket #4303 is assigned to Forgon. Talk to him if you want.
The more I talk about it every real chance i get reminds them that they are slack butts that make promises they should keep and forgot OPPS FORGON might make it also have zoom and jammer buttons not just the hold pursue etc.

User avatar
WZ2100ModsFAn
Trained
Trained
Posts: 287
Joined: 15 Apr 2018, 17:25
Location: United States.

Re: 3.3.0 (Beta) Multiplayer issues

Post by WZ2100ModsFAn » 14 Feb 2019, 01:53

Berg wrote:
12 Feb 2019, 04:11
WZ2100ModsFAn wrote:
12 Feb 2019, 02:09
w do i install all of the missing dependencies before doing ./configure?
The game will say things like missing Harfbuzz.
Sorry my bad

Distributions using dpkg/apt (Debian, Mint, Ubuntu)
Debian (tested for version 9.3.0)

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install -y autoconf build-essential zip pkg-config qtscript5-dev libsdl2-dev libpng-dev libtheora-dev libopenal-dev libvorbis-dev libglew-dev libphysfs-dev libfribidi-dev libfreetype6-dev libharfbuzz-dev libfontconfig1-dev gdb asciidoc-base wkhtmltopdf gettext
Mint (tested for version 18.3)

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install -y autoconf automake build-essential qtscript5-dev libpng12-dev libtheora-dev libopenal-dev libvorbis-dev libglew-dev libphysfs-dev libfribidi-dev libfreetype6-dev libharfbuzz-dev libfontconfig1-dev libgl1-mesa-dev gdb docbook-xsl libxml2-utils xsltproc asciidoc wkhtmltopdf gettext
To satisfy the dependency SDL >= 2.0.5, use one of the following methods:

install SDL 2.0.7 manually by following ​these instructions
install SDL 2.0.6 from the repositories of Ubuntu 17.10 Artful Aardvark (supported until July 2018):
Thanx hopefully will install these and run WZ without missing errors.
Apologies if i dont see your post
central time usa

Grey
Greenhorn
Posts: 6
Joined: 20 Mar 2013, 17:56

Re: 3.3.0 (Beta) Multiplayer issues

Post by Grey » 14 Feb 2019, 14:03

Hi There,

i would love to help but I am on Mac. Any News on that? There was a bug report that this mac issue was fixed in the master so can we hope for a full 3.3.0 MAC Version soon?

THanks :-)

User avatar
Berg
Regular
Regular
Posts: 2096
Joined: 02 Sep 2007, 23:25
Location: Australia

Re: 3.3.0 (Beta) Multiplayer issues

Post by Berg » 14 Feb 2019, 22:19


User avatar
xNEXTx
Greenhorn
Posts: 14
Joined: 10 Sep 2018, 22:07
Location: Russia

Re: 3.3.0 (Beta) Multiplayer issues

Post by xNEXTx » 15 Feb 2019, 03:03

I play with a resolution of 1920x1080. If the game is minimized to windowed mode (Alt+Enter) and closed. The next time you start the game will have a resolution of 640x480.
The resolution can be changed again, but it is not correct.
I'm using windows 10 OS.

ThinkSome
Rookie
Rookie
Posts: 19
Joined: 24 Feb 2018, 23:02

Re: 3.3.0 (Beta) Multiplayer issues

Post by ThinkSome » 16 Feb 2019, 00:46

In SP, cyborgs are moving inside transports (on the left panel), it looks hilarious.

There is still a really low unit limit and maximum zoom distance is awful. Why is there a 5 cap on maximum research centres? Can't you make maximum unlimited with default 5? Similar for other buildings.

The game does not remember some settings when playing skirmishes, namely the map choice and structure limits are forgotten, as are bot difficulties.

The new challenge is busted, the AI does not build any units other than trucks. Consequently all it ever does is build bases.

Forgon
Code contributor
Code contributor
Posts: 212
Joined: 07 Dec 2016, 22:23

Re: 3.3.0 (Beta) Multiplayer issues

Post by Forgon » 16 Feb 2019, 01:02

ThinkSome wrote:
16 Feb 2019, 00:46
In SP, cyborgs are moving inside transports (on the left panel), it looks hilarious.
Please take the time to write a proper bug report (with a screenshot).
ThinkSome wrote:
16 Feb 2019, 00:46
There is still a really low unit limit and maximum zoom distance is awful.
The unit limit can be increased via mods.
But the more units are allowed, the slower games will run.
Maximum zoom distance will be increased if I fix a few bugs related to it.
ThinkSome wrote:
16 Feb 2019, 00:46
Why is there a 5 cap on maximum research centres? Can't you make maximum unlimited with default 5? Similar for other buildings.
You can increase structure limits with mods.
ThinkSome wrote:
16 Feb 2019, 00:46
The game does not remember some settings when playing skirmishes, namely the map choice and structure limits are forgotten, as are bot difficulties.
This is a longstanding problem.
Saving AI difficulties is easy (although I never published my patch for that), but saving of map settings was disabled years ago due to security concerns and re-enabling this feature will require some work.
ThinkSome wrote:
16 Feb 2019, 00:46
The new challenge is busted, the AI does not build any units other than trucks. Consequently all it ever does is build bases.
I hope you are exaggerating. Could you be more specific?

ThinkSome
Rookie
Rookie
Posts: 19
Joined: 24 Feb 2018, 23:02

Re: 3.3.0 (Beta) Multiplayer issues

Post by ThinkSome » 16 Feb 2019, 01:41

Forgon wrote:
16 Feb 2019, 01:02

The unit limit can be increased via mods.
But the more units are allowed, the slower games will run.
Maximum zoom distance will be increased if I fix a few bugs related to it.
Sure, but it doesen't have to be limited to 50! In spring the maximum total is around 30000 with 1000 per player being the usual default setting. There are regular 8v8 games going on and noone is complaining. A hard limit of 50 belongs in the past century.
Forgon wrote:
16 Feb 2019, 01:02
You can increase structure limits with mods.
This is needlessly restrictive. The real restriction is income, so let players build however much they want.
Forgon wrote:
16 Feb 2019, 01:02
due to security concerns and re-enabling this feature will require some work.
Security concerns? In singleplayer skirmish?!
Forgon wrote:
16 Feb 2019, 01:02
I hope you are exaggerating. Could you be more specific?
I am not, here:

error spam @ stdout/stderr:
The attachment twofaced3.3.0.log is no longer available
picture in enemy base:
twofaced3.3.0.log
(19.41 KiB) Downloaded 5 times

Post Reply