Release 3.2.3 is out

The projects speaking tube.
Add your two cents if you want to.

Re: Release 3.2.3 is out

Postby Bethrezen » 17 Jul 2017, 20:09

Thanks, just fixed it. The JS script was made to allow winning as long as 1) at least one transport was unloaded and 2) no enemies are on map. I looked at the original .slo file for sub1-ca and it forced users to endure eleven transport loads.


Ok so after testing this some more it appears as though the issue with Alpha 07 only happens when you save on Alpha 07 and then reload from that save, if you play through from Alpha 06 the level seems to work normally and you will get a drop ship full of troops about every 2 minutes with the last one arriving about the time you have 1 min left, don't know if your fix will have taken into account reloading on alpha 07 instead of playing through so might wanna check that as well to make sure your fix also works when you make a save on Alpha 07 and then reload that save.

Now victory happens when the New Paradigm has at least eleven transport runs.


Is building the base still a requirement or do you simply have to defend against there attacks ? because the way it is at the moment the mission will end once you build a base and there are no more enemy units on the map, so since i normally already have a factory and a repair pad from the previous level all i need do is build 4 turrets to end the level.

The reason i ask is because this mission has always been a bit twitchy and i know in previous versions it could be difficult to get this one to end I know that I've had issues with that in the past part of the problem i think stemmed from the fact that i would often build the base on the previous mission and the script wouldn't register the fact that the base was already build.

although these days I've come to the conclusion that having a base on the plateau is a stupid idea because its to exposed so i usually delete the base after Alpha 07 is complete.

Now you may well wonder how i handle Alpha 10 that's simple enough station 2 groups of lancer units attached to commanders at the northern and southern entry points to deal with the heavy body tanks that spawn at these locations and station a squad of heavy machine gunner troops by the canyon entrance to cover the drop point there and then once the 2 lancer squads are done with the tanks I'll simply redeploy them to the ridge overlooking my main base and the the oil derrick to the north of my main base to deal with the drops in these locations.
Last edited by Bethrezen on 17 Jul 2017, 20:23, edited 4 times in total.
Bethrezen
Trained
Trained
 
Posts: 345
Joined: 25 Sep 2009, 02:05

Re: Release 3.2.3 is out

Postby NoQ » 17 Jul 2017, 20:18

Note that the briefing video does tell you to build defense (it doesn't tell how much defense to build, unfortunately), so i guess it should be kept as a necessary victory condition.
User avatar
NoQ
Special
Special
 
Posts: 6098
Joined: 24 Dec 2009, 11:35
Location: /var/zone

Re: Release 3.2.3 is out

Postby Bethrezen » 17 Jul 2017, 20:55

Alpha 08

This next one isn’t so much a bug as it is an annoying irritation, on Alpha 08 you pick up the Composite Alloy mk1 artifact but it won’t let you research Composite Alloy mk2 and the Python Heavy Body until the start of Alpha 09 which means you can’t use the remaining time on Alpha 08 if you complete it quickly to start upgrading your units resulting in a tremendous amount of the time on Alpha 09 being used up upgrading units.

Therefore I would like to propose that you be allowed to research Composite Alloy mk2 and the Python Heavy Body at the end of Alpha 08 instead of at the start of Alpha 09 game play wise it’s not going any difference since you get Composite Alloy mk2 and the Python Heavy Body at the start of Alpha 09 anyway it just means you don’t have to use up so much time on Alpha 09 upgrading units.
Last edited by Bethrezen on 18 Jul 2017, 02:16, edited 2 times in total.
Bethrezen
Trained
Trained
 
Posts: 345
Joined: 25 Sep 2009, 02:05

Re: Release 3.2.3 is out

Postby Berserk Cyborg » 17 Jul 2017, 21:36

NoQ wrote:Note that the briefing video does tell you to build defense (it doesn't tell how much defense to build, unfortunately), so i guess it should be kept as a necessary victory condition.

Forgot to mention that part, but it still checks for four new defense structures just as before. Question is: should victory be possible only after the New Paradigm brings in more than one group of reinforcements? It just seems that a possible ~2 minute victory makes the mission a bit pointless.

Found the problem that happens with saving (thus the mission can never end):
Code: Select all
TRACE: __camDispatchTransporterUnsafe: Transporter already on map for player 1, delaying.
User avatar
Berserk Cyborg
Code contributor
Code contributor
 
Posts: 337
Joined: 26 Sep 2016, 19:56

Re: Release 3.2.3 is out

Postby Bethrezen » 18 Jul 2017, 01:45

Alpha 9 this mission seems to play ok but i got a few script errors from it

Code: Select all
--- Starting log [C:\Documents and Settings\<user name>\Desktop\Warzone 2100_portable-master\Warzone 2100 master\logs\WZlog-0717_195710.txt]---
info    |07:57:10: [realmain:938] Using C:\Documents and Settings\<user name>\Desktop\Warzone 2100_portable-master\Warzone 2100 master\logs\WZlog-0717_195710.txt debug file
info    |07:57:28: [triggerEventSeen:1287] Scripts not initialized yet
info    |07:57:28: [triggerEventSeen:1287] Assert in Warzone: qtscript.cpp:1287 (scriptsReady), last script event: '<none>'
info    |07:57:28: [triggerEventSeen:1287] Scripts not initialized yet
info    |07:57:28: [triggerEventSeen:1287] Assert in Warzone: qtscript.cpp:1287 (scriptsReady), last script event: '<none>'
info    |10:04:47: [triggerEventSeen:1287] Scripts not initialized yet
info    |10:04:47: [triggerEventSeen:1287] Assert in Warzone: qtscript.cpp:1287 (scriptsReady), last script event: '<none>'
info    |10:04:47: [triggerEventSeen:1287] Scripts not initialized yet
info    |10:04:47: [triggerEventSeen:1287] Assert in Warzone: qtscript.cpp:1287 (scriptsReady), last script event: '<none>'
info    |10:26:14: [triggerEventSeen:1287] Scripts not initialized yet
info    |10:26:14: [triggerEventSeen:1287] Assert in Warzone: qtscript.cpp:1287 (scriptsReady), last script event: '<none>'
info    |10:26:14: [triggerEventSeen:1287] Scripts not initialized yet
info    |10:26:14: [triggerEventSeen:1287] Assert in Warzone: qtscript.cpp:1287 (scriptsReady), last script event: '<none>'
error   |10:29:31: [js_hackRemoveMessage:4012] cannot find message - C1-5_BASE3
error   |10:33:20: [js_hackRemoveMessage:4012] cannot find message - C1-5_BASE2
error   |10:43:33: [js_removeObject:2353] Object id 167323 not found belonging to player 12
error   |10:43:33: [callFunction:209] 0 : camSafeRemoveObject(obj = [object Object]) at script/campaign/libcampaign.js:133
error   |10:43:33: [callFunction:209] 1 : __camPickupArtifact(artifact = [object Object]) at script/campaign/libcampaign.js:586
error   |10:43:33: [callFunction:209] 2 : cam_eventPickup(feature = [object Object], droid = [object Object]) at script/campaign/libcampaign.js:2415
error   |10:43:33: [callFunction:209] 3 : <global>() at -1
info    |10:43:33: [callFunction:212] Uncaught exception calling function "cam_eventPickup" at line 133: ReferenceError: psObj failed in js_removeObject at line 2353
info    |10:43:33: [callFunction:212] Assert in Warzone: qtscript.cpp:212 (false), last script event: 'N/A'
error   |10:44:49: [js_removeObject:2353] Object id 167327 not found belonging to player 12
error   |10:44:49: [callFunction:209] 0 : camSafeRemoveObject(obj = [object Object]) at script/campaign/libcampaign.js:133
error   |10:44:49: [callFunction:209] 1 : __camPickupArtifact(artifact = [object Object]) at script/campaign/libcampaign.js:586
error   |10:44:49: [callFunction:209] 2 : cam_eventPickup(feature = [object Object], droid = [object Object]) at script/campaign/libcampaign.js:2415
error   |10:44:49: [callFunction:209] 3 : <global>() at -1
info    |10:44:49: [callFunction:212] Uncaught exception calling function "cam_eventPickup" at line 133: ReferenceError: psObj failed in js_removeObject at line 2353
info    |10:44:49: [callFunction:212] Assert in Warzone: qtscript.cpp:212 (false), last script event: 'N/A'
error   |10:44:55: [js_removeObject:2353] Object id 167325 not found belonging to player 12
error   |10:44:55: [callFunction:209] 0 : camSafeRemoveObject(obj = [object Object]) at script/campaign/libcampaign.js:133
error   |10:44:55: [callFunction:209] 1 : __camPickupArtifact(artifact = [object Object]) at script/campaign/libcampaign.js:586
error   |10:44:55: [callFunction:209] 2 : cam_eventPickup(feature = [object Object], droid = [object Object]) at script/campaign/libcampaign.js:2415
error   |10:44:55: [callFunction:209] 3 : <global>() at -1
info    |10:44:55: [callFunction:212] Uncaught exception calling function "cam_eventPickup" at line 133: ReferenceError: psObj failed in js_removeObject at line 2353
info    |10:44:55: [callFunction:212] Assert in Warzone: qtscript.cpp:212 (false), last script event: 'N/A'
error   |10:44:57: [js_removeObject:2353] Object id 167329 not found belonging to player 12
error   |10:44:57: [callFunction:209] 0 : camSafeRemoveObject(obj = [object Object]) at script/campaign/libcampaign.js:133
error   |10:44:57: [callFunction:209] 1 : __camPickupArtifact(artifact = [object Object]) at script/campaign/libcampaign.js:586
error   |10:44:57: [callFunction:209] 2 : cam_eventPickup(feature = [object Object], droid = [object Object]) at script/campaign/libcampaign.js:2415
error   |10:44:57: [callFunction:209] 3 : <global>() at -1
info    |10:44:57: [callFunction:212] Uncaught exception calling function "cam_eventPickup" at line 133: ReferenceError: psObj failed in js_removeObject at line 2353
info    |10:44:57: [callFunction:212] Assert in Warzone: qtscript.cpp:212 (false), last script event: 'N/A'


Just noticed an odd glitch with Alpha 10 for some reason the New Paradigm are only sending in a single drop ship of troops, the tanks that spawn at the north and south of the map appear as expected but only the first drop ship full of cyborgs comes.

Like Alpha 07 this only seems to happen if you save on Alpha 10 and then reload that save if you play through from Alpha 09 then the mission plays out correctly.

Forgot to mention that part, but it still checks for four new defense structures just as before. Question is: should victory be possible only after the New Paradigm brings in more than one group of reinforcements? It just seems that a possible ~2 minute victory makes the mission a bit pointless.


To my mind this mission has always been an odd one that doesn't really fit.

Like you I'm of the opinion that simply building 4 structures and finishing the mission in 2 minutes makes the level kinda pointless, on the other hand though having people sit there for 30 minutes fending off attacks isn't really much better, not least for the fact that as it stands right now the New Paradigm are a bunch of puny weaklings that couldn't mount any sort of a serious challenge if they tried and there pitiful counter attack is nothing more than a minor annoyance, which quiet frankly makes the whole enterprise boring as hell, which i suspect is why the script was changed originally.

Not to mention the fact that we already have to do this on alpha 10 anyway, more over why do we need a forward operating base when we've already removed the New Paradigm from the home map, it makes no logical sense, maybe if there was another part to the map then it would make sense to build a forward operating base, but since we've already removed the New Paradigms final base on are home map by that point, there is no need to be building anything on the plateau because you don't need it to defend the map.

To be honest I'm of the opinion that the way that whole level is setup is pretty lacklustre and realistically it needs to be completely redesigned because there attacks are in no way threatening they're simply to weak and can't bring in enough troops fast enough to mount any sort of a serious challenge, and that's on hard when you have no defences in place already and if this is seriously the best they can do then they may give up and go home because they don't have a chance.

I mean to be honest I don't know if its just my imagination but I'm sure the New Paradigm has been seriously nurfed, because this just seems so much easier then i remember even on hard.
Bethrezen
Trained
Trained
 
Posts: 345
Joined: 25 Sep 2009, 02:05

Re: Release 3.2.3 is out

Postby Berserk Cyborg » 18 Jul 2017, 02:17

Bethrezen wrote:I mean to be honest I don't know if its just my imagination but I'm sure the New Paradigm has been seriously nurfed, because this just seems so much easier then i remember even on hard.
The problem in question is that eventResearched() is not executed in rules.js for an enemy player (Essentially the enemy has no research bonuses in 3.2.x). I do have fixes for this and includes the dynamic difficulty update in ticket #4602 and would push the changes myself if everything looks good.

Edit:
Can you upload the save for the Alpha 9 bug? Looks interesting. Other than that I am working on the reinforcement transport bug.
User avatar
Berserk Cyborg
Code contributor
Code contributor
 
Posts: 337
Joined: 26 Sep 2016, 19:56

Re: Release 3.2.3 is out

Postby Bethrezen » 18 Jul 2017, 12:00

The problem in question is that eventResearched() is not executed in rules.js for an enemy player (Essentially the enemy has no research bonuses in 3.2.x)


Ah well that explains a thing or 2 i though it was strange that there lancer towers did almost no damage even to a vehicle as lightly armoured as a scanner.

Can you upload the save for the Alpha 9 bug? Looks interesting. Other than that I am working on the reinforcement transport bug.


sure.

I just tried running Alpha 09 again this morning and got no error this time so I'm not sure what specific set of circumstance triggered it last night because i wasn't able to get it to happen again, so it seems like this might be one of them annoying intermittent things.

Anyway here is the save for Alpha 9
Attachments
Alpha 09.7z
(49.2 KiB) Downloaded 21 times
Bethrezen
Trained
Trained
 
Posts: 345
Joined: 25 Sep 2009, 02:05

Re: Release 3.2.3 is out

Postby Bethrezen » 18 Jul 2017, 12:31

Just a quick observation when the game crates a log it might be a good idea to have it tag the file with the name of the level that crated it because right now all the log names look the same and it can be tough to differentiate between them and what i have been doing so i know what log came from what level is clearing the contents of the logs folder after each level.

What about instead of naming log files like this WZlog-0718_110737.txt you name them like this WZlog-cam_1A.txt see now its clear what level crated that log because it is tagged with the level code that is displayed in game for that level in this case Alpha 01

failing that you could simply have the game write a line in the log file something like

info: Start logging Alpha 01

that way you know that anything under that line is from Alpha 01 and then with each new level add a new line

info: Start logging Alpha 02
info: Start logging Alpha 03

Just a though would make it easer for people to report errors, if the log file actually reported which level the error occurred on.
Bethrezen
Trained
Trained
 
Posts: 345
Joined: 25 Sep 2009, 02:05

Re: Release 3.2.3 is out

Postby Bethrezen » 18 Jul 2017, 15:41

In unsuccessfully trying to replicate last nights scripting errors for Alpha 09 i think i may have discovered another couple of issue with Alpha 09 that i didn't notice before since i normal just pulverise the computer as quick as i can because normally by the time I land on the map I've already spend half of the 1 hour timer upgrading my units to heavy bodies which doesn't leave me a lot of time to clear the map and finish the level.

1.) The computer seems to run out of money within about the first 3 to 5 minuets of you landing on the map and stops producing new units from its factories after this.

2.) Like Alpha 07 and Alpha 10 this level also seems to have an issue with the drop ship reinforcements, because I'm only seeing 1 drop ship full of troops, but as far as i can remember they are supposed to keep flying in troops until you close down there drop zone.

Now while on Alpha 07 and Alpha 10 the reinforcement issue doesn't seem to happen if you play through with Alpha 09 it doesn't seem to matter if you play through or save on Alpha 09 and then reload that save you get the same issues only get 1 drop ship of troops and the computer running out of money within the first few minuets of landing on the map.

Other wise everything else seems to work as expected, although there are a couple of spots on the map where units can become trapped and unable to move one is the the left of the northern scav base the other 2 are on the top and bottom of the little hill that is in the middle of the ridge line just by your landing zone
Bethrezen
Trained
Trained
 
Posts: 345
Joined: 25 Sep 2009, 02:05

Re: Release 3.2.3 is out

Postby Bethrezen » 18 Jul 2017, 17:03

Alpha 11
As with the release version the builder on this level is only building a single lancer turret when it should be building 6 or 7 as i recall not sure why though could this be due to insufficient funds ? Otherwise I didn't notice any major issues and the level seemed to play fine.
Bethrezen
Trained
Trained
 
Posts: 345
Joined: 25 Sep 2009, 02:05

Re: Release 3.2.3 is out

Postby Berserk Cyborg » 18 Jul 2017, 17:49

Probably should mention that factory production (for activated factories) and anything regarding transport reinforcements will break in the campaign library when reloading a save. And trucks do stuff every ~3 minutes which is why it looks like there are less defenses on Alpha 11 (maybe 30-50 seconds would be better).
User avatar
Berserk Cyborg
Code contributor
Code contributor
 
Posts: 337
Joined: 26 Sep 2016, 19:56

Re: Release 3.2.3 is out

Postby Bethrezen » 18 Jul 2017, 22:05

trucks do stuff every ~3 minutes which is why it looks like there are less defenses on Alpha 11 (maybe 30-50 seconds would be better).


Looks like we both might be right about this one just loaded up Alpha 11 and noted 2 distinctly different behaviours from the builder on this level depending on my actions.

If I intercept the convoy but don't actually pick up the artefact then the builder exhibits the expected behaviour and every 2 or 3 mins it builds another lancer turret till it has build 6 I believe it was

However that's not what it does if i actually pick up the artefact, if i pick up the artefact then the builder either doesn't build any turrets or only builds 1 turret depending on how quick i am and then proceeds to move to my LZ usually resulting in it being destroyed as it drives past my units.

What i have noticed on this level is if you don't pick up the artefact then the tanks that are on the ridge guarding the New Paradigm pick up point just sit there until you move up there and attack them which is what it used to do on older versions of the game.

However if you pick up the artefact then all those units move to attack you which appears to be new behaviour because i don't recall them ever doing that on older versions of the game, where i think the trouble comes in is that this new behaviour for the military units also effects the builder overriding its normal behaviour which would be to build the turrets.

so i still believe there is a bug here but perhaps its not actually with the builder per say maybe it's with the script that controls the behaviour of the military units, now I'll grant you this is just supposition but it would seem to fit with what I'm seeing

try it out ya self load up alpha 11 then intercept the convoy but don't actually pick up the artefact instead just watch the builder and it will built the turrets as expected.

Then reload alpha 11 and again intercept the convoy but this time pick up the artefact and watch how the builder will stop building the turrets and drive to your LZ usually getting blown up as it drives by your units well unless you tell your units to hold fire that is.

Alpha 11.7z
(50.75 KiB) Downloaded 29 times


maybe 30-50 seconds would be better


Indeed building 1 turret every 2 or 3 minutes is far to long.
Bethrezen
Trained
Trained
 
Posts: 345
Joined: 25 Sep 2009, 02:05

Re: Release 3.2.3 is out

Postby Bethrezen » 18 Jul 2017, 22:11

Just noticed a bug with the Cyborg factory for some reason each of the 4 models of cyborg is displayed twice when you open the cyborg build screen.

Image
Bethrezen
Trained
Trained
 
Posts: 345
Joined: 25 Sep 2009, 02:05

Re: Release 3.2.3 is out

Postby Berserk Cyborg » 19 Jul 2017, 00:19

Fixed the bug with systems trying to attack stuff in group management. Truck orders happens every 40 seconds from now on.
User avatar
Berserk Cyborg
Code contributor
Code contributor
 
Posts: 337
Joined: 26 Sep 2016, 19:56

Re: Release 3.2.3 is out

Postby Bethrezen » 19 Jul 2017, 18:47

ok so just updated to the latest master
http://buildbot.wz2100.net/files/warzone2100-master-20170717-235054-a856dea.exe
Started a new game and alpha 1 is now giving me scripting errors here is the log
Attachments
WZlog-0719_170733.7z
(12.19 KiB) Downloaded 20 times
Bethrezen
Trained
Trained
 
Posts: 345
Joined: 25 Sep 2009, 02:05

PreviousNext

Return to News and announcements