Help needed testing 3.2.x Campaign games!

The projects speaking tube.
Add your two cents if you want to.

Re: Help needed testing 3.2.x Campaign games!

Postby Berserk Cyborg » 01 Feb 2018, 05:31

It is all in master now.

Bethrezen wrote:Ok just gave that a go and something still isn't right while the units do move there movement is very stilted and stuttery
Have not checked though it sounds like when one is done repairing the rest of the group waits for the newly repaired unit to catch up with the rest of the group.
User avatar
Berserk Cyborg
Code contributor
Code contributor
 
Posts: 575
Joined: 26 Sep 2016, 19:56

Re: Help needed testing 3.2.x Campaign games!

Postby Bethrezen » 01 Feb 2018, 19:09

Berserk Cyborg wrote:It is all in master now.

Bethrezen wrote:Ok just gave that a go and something still isn't right while the units do move there movement is very stilted and stuttery


Have not checked though it sounds like when one is done repairing the rest of the group waits for the newly repaired unit to catch up with the rest of the group.


No that's not what I'm seeing, what it looks like to me is the units are moving in slow motion, its almost like the units are caught in an infinite loop of conflicting orders.

About the best way i can describe what I'm seeing is it's like the units in question are getting orders to move forward and retreat at the same time, and as a consequence the units appear like they are moving in slow motion as the game loops back and forth between these conflicting orders.

[edit]
ok managed to find something to do some screen recording so here is a very brief clip to demonstrate what I'm seeing.

Untitled.7z
(641.4 KiB) Downloaded 26 times
Bethrezen
Regular
Regular
 
Posts: 584
Joined: 25 Sep 2009, 02:05

Re: Help needed testing 3.2.x Campaign games!

Postby Berserk Cyborg » 02 Feb 2018, 05:07

Interesting. This only affects droids that regroup. Remember when hold would immediately revert to guard when pressing the h button? This time they were being told to stop constantly, it would then revert to guard, and they would kind of move towards a visible enemy object. For now I will tell them to hold in that case so they can hit something if possible (not completed yet).

Edit:
Something I was thinking of. I was able to make enemy factories produce a unit almost instantly (production gets unstable if the throttle is below 2 seconds) and swap the enemy propulsion with a higher type on hard/insane (hard gets type 2 and insane gets type 3). Just need to figure out how make enemy units move faster, if that is possible. Probably way too difficult though. As a demonstration I made Alpha 1 factories produce stuff very fast.

Edit: New mod in next post.
User avatar
Berserk Cyborg
Code contributor
Code contributor
 
Posts: 575
Joined: 26 Sep 2016, 19:56

Re: Help needed testing 3.2.x Campaign games!

Postby Bethrezen » 02 Feb 2018, 15:58

Interesting. This only affects droids that regroup. Remember when hold would immediately revert to guard when pressing the h button? This time they were being told to stop constantly, it would then revert to guard, and they would kind of move towards a visible enemy object. For now I will tell them to hold in that case so they can hit something if possible (not completed yet)


Hummm... interesting, I kinda figured it would be something along those lines, do you know why they where getting contradictory orders like that?

Also I'll need to double check on this but aren't those light body units supposed to try and assault your LZ, if you aren't attacking there base or attack you if you are attacking there base ?

Edit:Something I was thinking of. I was able to make enemy factories produce a unit almost instantly (production gets unstable if the throttle is below 2 seconds) and swap the enemy propulsion with a higher type on hard/insane (hard gets type 2 and insane gets type 3). Just need to figure out how make enemy units move faster, if that is possible. Probably way too difficult though. As a demonstration I made Alpha 1 factories produce stuff very fast.


Interesting would probably make the earlier alpha levels a bit to difficult due to only having light body units and limited resources but certainly this could be useful for making some of the later missions a bit more of a challenge specifically the alpha level with the convoy since by that time the player has heavy body units and your only real opposition is scav's since the new paradigm dont have a base and only have a small detachment of units, and obviously scav's are no match for the players heavy body units unless they can compensate with numbers.

[edit]
Just gave that a go and I think if you are going to do that then you would probably need to move the repair turret artefact so that you don't have to go to the last base to get it otherwise you are going to get squashed because you simply don't have the resources to replace your units as they reach the heavy damage state and fall back.

By the time I got to the last base trying to get the repair artefact about 75% of my squad of 18 units where already at heavy damage and had fallen back for repair, but if the repair turret research was moved to the first base the one that has the flamer turret then that might be manageable since it's a lot faster and cheaper to repair your units than it is to build new ones, so the limited resources are less of a problem.

If you are going to move the artefacts around here is what I'd probably go with.

Artefact 1

Engineering > Tank Traps + Machinegun Guard Tower

Artefact 2

Flamer
Mobile Repair Turret
Hardened MG Bullets

Artefact 3

APDSB MG Bullets > APDSB MG Bullets Mk2

As for the 4th artefact to be honest i don't really know why we need a 4th artefact so that can probably be removed since this actually makes more logical sense.

Although now I think about it I'm wondering if it might not be a better idea to move the APDSB MG Bullets & APDSB MG Bullets Mk2 to alpha 2 and then do

Twin Machinegun > APDSB MG Bullets > APDSB MG Bullets Mk2

[edit 2]

Alpha 02 & Alpha 06

I know this is a really nit picky little detail but shouldn't the power station where you get the power module and the research lab where you get the research module actual have the modules build on them ?
Bethrezen
Regular
Regular
 
Posts: 584
Joined: 25 Sep 2009, 02:05

Re: Help needed testing 3.2.x Campaign games!

Postby Berserk Cyborg » 02 Feb 2018, 19:00

This version should not assert when loading saves. We could always activate this mechanism on a mission by mission basis to prevent Alpha 5/6 from being too tough, for example.

Edit: Now allows for limiting if it uses type II or type III regardless if on hard/insane and the ability to disable this feature altogether. I should mention that right now phantom factories and transporter units are being allowed to use this also. As of this moment hard/insane will use the better propulsion components, though once committed it I will disable it by default and it can enabled in the mission scripts later.

Edit 2: Got those map changes you requested in with this one. For some reason the New Paradigm scout sensor never existed on map and was being magically created on mission start so I placed one on the map now. I also moved those northern scavenger cannon towers on Alpha 11 so when I get regroup working they won't get stuck there like in the past.

Updated-Campaign.wz
Propulsion change with difficulty
(69.61 KiB) Downloaded 21 times

Spoiler:


Edit 3:
So now I have the propulsion change feature disabled by default. It can be activated in game by simply opening the debug menu (ctrl + o) and going to the "context" tab on top and selecting the mission script name (cam...). Then at the bottom paste in camSetPropulsionTypeLimit() and pass a 2 for type II and a 3 for type III (ie. camSetPropulsionTypeLimit(3)). If you don't pass in anything, the feature will turn off.

You can modify a factory throttle in game by going into the same area I described above and in there you will find a variable called __camFactoryInfo. Click the arrow and it will show all the data about a factory. Using Alpha 1 as an example, doing __camFactoryInfo["base1factory"].throttle = 3000 will make it have a 3 second throttle time.
User avatar
Berserk Cyborg
Code contributor
Code contributor
 
Posts: 575
Joined: 26 Sep 2016, 19:56

Re: Help needed testing 3.2.x Campaign games!

Postby Bethrezen » 03 Feb 2018, 16:55

This version should not assert when loading saves. We could always activate this mechanism on a mission by mission basis to prevent Alpha 5/6 from being too tough, for example.

Edit: Now allows for limiting if it uses type II or type III regardless if on hard/insane and the ability to disable this feature altogether. I should mention that right now phantom factories and transporter units are being allowed to use this also. As of this moment hard/insane will use the better propulsion components, though once committed it I will disable it by default and it can enabled in the mission scripts later.

Edit 2: Got those map changes you requested in with this one. For some reason the New Paradigm scout sensor never existed on map and was being magically created on mission start so I placed one on the map now. I also moved those northern scavenger cannon towers on Alpha 11 so when I get regroup working they won't get stuck there like in the past.


what changes specifically does this mod make just so i know what I'm looking out for and on what level.

Edit 3:
So now I have the propulsion change feature disabled by default. It can be activated in game by simply opening the debug menu (ctrl + o) and going to the "context" tab on top and selecting the mission script name (cam...). Then at the bottom paste in camSetPropulsionTypeLimit() and pass a 2 for type II and a 3 for type III (ie. camSetPropulsionTypeLimit(3)). If you don't pass in anything, the feature will turn off.

You can modify a factory throttle in game by going into the same area I described above and in there you will find a variable called __camFactoryInfo. Click the arrow and it will show all the data about a factory. Using Alpha 1 as an example, doing __camFactoryInfo["base1factory"].throttle = 3000 will make it have a 3 second throttle time.


Just 1 small problem with this I can't actually access the debug menu (ctrl + o) on master because when i do so it minimizes the game and that is the same as pressing alt tab to go back to the desktop which causes the game to crash although in v1.10 i don't have this issue since the debug menu doesn't minimise the game as you can see in this screen shot

Image

I might be able to access it in window mode, though I'm not really sure because I've never actually tried as i rarely use window mode, I prefer playing full screen.
Bethrezen
Regular
Regular
 
Posts: 584
Joined: 25 Sep 2009, 02:05

Re: Help needed testing 3.2.x Campaign games!

Postby Berserk Cyborg » 03 Feb 2018, 18:48

Pushed a total of six commits from 2561fc154a138c5ef14e72d635f92245ae3e6c77 through 64b57db2c47c120569d3f7cbb13a58fa8724b7c6. So you can ignore the mod now.

Bethrezen wrote:what changes specifically does this mod make just so i know what I'm looking out for and on what level.
The map changes for Alpha 2/6 like you requested. Other than that the rest is hidden automation and general maintenance.

Of interest:
1. Factory production is now checked on a 800ms timer.
2. The AI gets a special research item that basically produces a unit exactly within the throttle time.
3. AI power is automatically set to the max every few minutes.
4. Typing "deity" will detect all bases like in the wzscript versions.
5. The ability to allow AI units to use a stronger propulsion type level (disabled by default for now).
6. Adding missing braces and style corrections in the scripts. The former reduces lint warnings.

With 1 I was able to remove the save-load hack to get factories to produce stuff again (cause it all depended on eventDroidBuilt before).

Bethrezen wrote:Just 1 small problem with this I can't actually access the debug menu (ctrl + o) on master because when i do so it minimizes the game
Same, except there is no crash for me. I never play in fullscreen so I never saw this until now. Will make a ticket.
User avatar
Berserk Cyborg
Code contributor
Code contributor
 
Posts: 575
Joined: 26 Sep 2016, 19:56

Re: Help needed testing 3.2.x Campaign games!

Postby Bethrezen » 03 Feb 2018, 19:47

Berserk Cyborg wrote:
Bethrezen wrote:Just 1 small problem with this I can't actually access the debug menu (ctrl + o) on master because when i do so it minimizes the game


Same, except there is no crash for me. I never play in fullscreen so I never saw this until now. Will make a ticket.


Of course what would be nice is if someone could figure out what was changed after 3.1.2 because versions 3.1.3 / 3.1.5 / 3.2.0 / 3.2.1 wouldn't load for me at all and while 3.2.2 / 3.2.3 would load and run they exhibited the crash when I alt tab to the desktop when in full screen mode.

I know that folk say that when the stack track doesn't give a lot of info it's usually something to do with your system and not the game but in this case I think the evidence shows that it is something to do with changes made to the game since this only started happening after 3.1.2.
Bethrezen
Regular
Regular
 
Posts: 584
Joined: 25 Sep 2009, 02:05

Re: Help needed testing 3.2.x Campaign games!

Postby alfred007 » 04 Feb 2018, 04:05

I updated to master 64b57db and tested Alpha 11. Looks good, I have made a few adjustments. In the cam1-7.js file, I moved the assemblies to the factory part so that they work now. I have as well adjusted two assemblies and increased the radius of two trigger areas.
Logs and changed files are added.

I have a few thoughts about Alpha 12. I think the throttles for the factories are too high, but if we only decrease them it could be too tough again. So I'm thinking about to add a third trigger area. At the moment we have one that activates all factories except the two in the NE and the second the two in the NE. If we activate with the first trigger the western heavy and cyborg factory, with the second the eastern heavy and cyborg factory and with the third the two factories in the NE we wouldn't have the problem, that you get attacked by 8 cyborgs at once every two minutes. And I think this is the main part of the problem with Alpha 12 that the two cyborg factories have the same throttle and get activated at the same time. And also you wouldn't get attacked by heavy units until you activated the second trigger. I'll try to make those changes and will upload the files when I'm finished.

Edit: An here is the mod. I changed the causeWayTrig from a radius to an area, added northWayTrigger and decreased all factory throttles. I hope it's now better playable but not too easy.

Updated-Alpha 12.wz
(3.78 KiB) Downloaded 20 times
Attachments
alpha 11.zip
(10.28 KiB) Downloaded 19 times
alfred007
Trained
Trained
 
Posts: 383
Joined: 31 Jul 2016, 06:25
Location: Stuttgart, Germany

Re: Help needed testing 3.2.x Campaign games!

Postby Berserk Cyborg » 04 Feb 2018, 06:46

Pushed 9476a9a735a63ae9739ff3a56c4823f11b40cfd0 and ab17b9b0d377464acd44b790a7256b2a7010e43a. The former makes the reticule menus open again from the f1-f6 keys and the latter the Alpha 11/12 tweaks. I also made the factory groups repair at 66% damage instead of at something like 25% (probably should do that for the other missions too).
User avatar
Berserk Cyborg
Code contributor
Code contributor
 
Posts: 575
Joined: 26 Sep 2016, 19:56

Re: Help needed testing 3.2.x Campaign games!

Postby alfred007 » 08 Feb 2018, 00:36

I tested Alpha 12 with the new changes with master ab17b9b and was surprised that I didn't get attacked at my LZ. I used the deity cheat and found this:

wz2100-20180204_221037-SUB_1_D.jpg


The NP trapped by his own tank traps. I think we should remove either the northern of the two tank traps or both. I had a lot of work to move forward as soon as all factories and the NP LZ were enabled. I could win the level but only in the nick of time. You should also test Alpha 12 with the new changes so we can make a decision if we increase the factory throttles again or not.
Attachments
logs alpha 12.zip
(4.83 KiB) Downloaded 16 times
alfred007
Trained
Trained
 
Posts: 383
Joined: 31 Jul 2016, 06:25
Location: Stuttgart, Germany

Re: Help needed testing 3.2.x Campaign games!

Postby Berserk Cyborg » 08 Feb 2018, 07:59

Pushed commits e514894db0449f8e1e46ccb0cf42f9a0f73700eb, f0a0d76ad50f376f267b622c6f6ece16918f74b4, ccfbbc925ca96631603ccad70583bcb7b365f680, and 2ccec847262886ccf4d6210b838e00c48aad4833.

I also messed with reticule button logic in rules.js (campaign/multiplayer) so those might not work right until loading the next mission and I moved the timers down again back where they were before. Also, Gamma repair retreat is in the library whenever "repairPos" is added in the group's data object.

alfred007 wrote:The NP trapped by his own tank traps.

That bug group regroups (they retreat a bit if attacked and low on numbers) and I think waited for a factory reinforcement (none assigned to that group). They only attack the LZ so they don't need such behavior and so they simply repair when damaged (unlikely).

alfred007 wrote:You should also test Alpha 12 with the new changes so we can make a decision if we increase the factory throttles again or not.

O_o That was way harder than it has ever been. Those darn cyborgs... I made them produce slower now. I do like the spreading out of the factory triggers though.
User avatar
Berserk Cyborg
Code contributor
Code contributor
 
Posts: 575
Joined: 26 Sep 2016, 19:56

Re: Help needed testing 3.2.x Campaign games!

Postby alfred007 » 08 Feb 2018, 23:21

Berserk Cyborg wrote:Those darn cyborgs...


Oooooh yeah. :D But I think that cyborg factories should produce cyborgs faster than heavy factories tanks. So I suggest to decrease the throttles of the eastern and western cyborg factory by 5 seconds and increase the throttles of the western and eastern heavy factory by 5 seconds. That makes more sense in my eyes. And if we compare the cyborg throttles in Alpha 12 (45, 50 and 55 seconds at the moment) with the throttle in Alpha 09 (30 seconds) the difference is too big. For logical reasons and consistency, we should increase the cyborg throttle in Alpha 09 by 5 seconds. Then we have a throttle of 35 seconds in Alpha 09 and 45 and 50 seconds in Alpha 12. That fits better in my opinion.

Edit: Maybe we should also move the last trigger area a few tiles north so that the LZ and the last two factories gets later enabled.
alfred007
Trained
Trained
 
Posts: 383
Joined: 31 Jul 2016, 06:25
Location: Stuttgart, Germany

Re: Help needed testing 3.2.x Campaign games!

Postby Bethrezen » 09 Feb 2018, 18:49

Ok so continuing my duel play through of alpha campaign on both master and v1.10 using master warzone2100-master-20180204-051309-ab17b9b.exe

Yes i know that's a couple of days old and there have been a couple of updates since but nothing that would alter the results of testing to much anyway here is what I have, currently I'm up to alpha 11 so here is the research list for alpha 06 to 11 on v1.10

Alpha 06

Artefact 1
Mini Pod Rockets
He Mini Rockets
Mini Pod Rocket Guard Tower
He Mini Rockets Mk2
Fast Fire Mini Rockets
He Mini Rockets Mk3
Lancer AT Rockets
Fast Fire Mini Rockets Mk2
Heat Rocket Warheads
Lancer Bunker
Lancer Hard Point
Heat Rocket Warheads Mk2
Fast Fire Mini Rockets Mk3
Heat Rocket Warheads Mk3
Bunker Buster Rocket

Artefact 2
Tracked Propulsion

Artefact 3
Fuel Injected Engine

Artefact 4
Research Module

Alpha 07
No Artefacts

Alpha 08

Artefact 1
Mini Rocket Artillery
Mini Rocket Battery

Artefact 2
Light Body Bug

Artefact 3
Composite Alloy
Heavy Mortar Bombard

Master Only
Composite Alloy Mk2
Heavy Body Python
Bombard Pit

Alpha 09
Composite Alloy Mk2
Heavy Body Python

Artefact 1
Automated Factory Production Mk3
Automated Repair Facility Upgrade Mk3

Artefact 2
Synaptic Link
Cyborg Factory
Automated Cyborg Production
Automated Cyborg Production Mk2

Artefact 3
Medium Body Scorpion

Artefact 4
Fuel Injection Engine Mk2

Master Only
Machine Gunner Cyborg
Heavy Gunner Cyborg
Lancer Cyborg
Flamer Cyborg
Cyborg Composite Alloy
Cyborg Composite Alloy Mk2
Cyborg Composite Alloy Mk3

Alpha 10
No Artefacts

Alpha 11
Heavy Cannon
Heavy Cannon Hard Point


Looking at this again I see a couple of things.

First you don’t get the bombard pit on alpha 08 on v1.10 again I'm not sure if it's one of these things you are supposed to get on v1.10 but don’t because of bugs or if you are just not supposed to get it at all so might want to double check the original source to see if you are actually supposed to get that or not.

You also get the

Composite Alloy mk2
Heavy Body Python

Of course we already know about that because it was a deliberate change since technically, if the required structure check was working correctly, you would be able to research them on alpha 08

On master you get the following on Alpha 09

Machine Gunner Cyborg
Heavy Gunner Cyborg
Lancer Cyborg
Flamer Cyborg
Cyborg Composite Alloy
Cyborg Composite Alloy mk2
Cyborg Composite Alloy mk3

Which you are not supposed to get till you have actually build the Cyborg factory of course we already know about that and again it's a side effect of removing the required structure check, which still needs to be fixed so that it actually checks the home map for the presence of the required structure instead of the away map and when done that needs to be re-implemented.

On alpha 11 the convoy still needs work to make it properly mirror how it worked before.

In addition the behaviour of how the artefact drop works needs fixing as well, because on v1.10 if you kill the unit carrying the artefact it will be dropped immediately and then the other members of the convoy will try to pick it back up again as noted in my previous posting several pages back, well unless you get to it first that is.

However on master you have to wipe out the whole convoy before the artefact will drop which is incorrect behaviour there are no Star Trek style transporters that would allow members of the convoy to magically beam the artefact between them to try and keep it out of your hands, more over having the artefact drop set up that way can potentially screw you over because if one of the new paradigm units manages to give you the slip it's impossible to catch them before they escape because they move faster then you now while the speed difference isn't that big it is enough that it makes it impossible to catch them if they get a bit of a head start on you.

Also as previously noted the convoy is supposed to stay together as a single unit the whole strength in numbers thing so obviously the group code for this still needs looking at which may or may not necessitate altering the convoy since mixing fast and slow units together doesn't work so well due to the removal of the formation speed limiting.
Bethrezen
Regular
Regular
 
Posts: 584
Joined: 25 Sep 2009, 02:05

Re: Help needed testing 3.2.x Campaign games!

Postby Bethrezen » 09 Feb 2018, 19:20

Question when a unit is assigned to a group say group 1 for example would it be possible to have the units group assignment show in the reinforcement window because often times I will have more then one group of the same units and it can be difficult some times to tell when looking at the reinforcement window which units are part of which group because the reinforcement window doesn't show the group assignment what I'm thinking is have the group assignment if one is set show in the top left of the window like this.

Image
Bethrezen
Regular
Regular
 
Posts: 584
Joined: 25 Sep 2009, 02:05

PreviousNext

Return to News and announcements